The five stages of grief tips by jackalyn rainosek
1 / 9

Jackalyn Rainosek - The Five Stages of Grief - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on

Click here -

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'Jackalyn Rainosek - The Five Stages of Grief' - JackalynRainosek

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
The five stages of grief tips by jackalyn rainosek

The Five Stages of Grief

Tips by Jackalyn Rainosek


What is grief
What is Grief?

Grieving is a universal human experience that affects people from all walks of life.

There are five classic stages of grief, and they were first identified by the Swiss-American psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in her 1969 book, On Death and Dying.

First stage denial and isolation
First Stage- Denial and Isolation

In the first stage, it is common for people to at first deny the reality of the situation.

It's a defense mechanism against the immediate shock.

It is usually temporary, and it helps people to get through the first phase of emotional pain.

Second stage anger
Second Stage- Anger

The second stage is Anger.

Anger is a reaction to the reality of the situation and may be directed against almost anyone or anything.

Third stage bargaining
Third Stage- Bargaining

Anger passes into the third state of bargaining, which is seen as an attempt to regain control.

Forth stage depression
Forth Stage- Depression

This stage is known as depression, which involves sadness and regret.

Final stage acceptance
Final Stage- Acceptance

The final stage is acceptance.

Sadly, not everyone is able to reach this stage.

About jackalyn rainosek
About Jackalyn Rainosek

Jackalyn Rainosek has a Ph.D. in Counseling and Educational Psychology

from Texas A&M University,

and did her doctoral dissertation on Death Anxiety with Medical Personnel.

She received four years of training in Death and Dying with the Elisabeth Kubler-Ross.