e marketing 101 online advertising l.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
E-Marketing 101: Online Advertising PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
E-Marketing 101: Online Advertising

Loading in 2 Seconds...

play fullscreen
1 / 13

E-Marketing 101: Online Advertising - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 643 Views
  • Uploaded on

E-Marketing 101: Online Advertising Presentation & Panel Discussion Moderated by: Philip Lewis Comcast Spotlight 703-583-4821 Philip_Lewis@cable.comcast.com www.comcastspotlight.com Brian Clark Creating Results 703-494-7888 x29 Jim Halling Comcast Spotlight 240-482-1482

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'E-Marketing 101: Online Advertising' - Gabriel


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
e marketing 101 online advertising

E-Marketing 101: Online Advertising

Presentation & Panel Discussion

Moderated by:

Philip Lewis

Comcast Spotlight

703-583-4821

Philip_Lewis@cable.comcast.com

www.comcastspotlight.com

Brian Clark

Creating Results

703-494-7888 x29

Jim Halling

Comcast Spotlight

240-482-1482

Maggie Hatfield

Big Lift Marketing

703-531-7363

Panelists:

slide2

Internet Advertising - Strengths

  • “Marketers have embraced Interactive as an essential medium to reach and engage their consumers in more immersive brand experiences,”

Greg Stuart, President and CEO, IAB.

  • “Interactive advertising continues to prove itself as the most cost effective medium in driving sales and changing consumer attitudes…”
  • "The Internet has the unique ability to collapse the business cycle for advertising, marketing and branding, making it more attractive for traditional advertisers,"

Pete Petrusky, Director, Advisory Services, PricewaterhouseCoopers.

slide3

Internet Advertising

  • Banner Ads
  • Video / Video Pre-Rolls
  • Listings / Search Results
  • Rich Media

$39.22 billion in 2007 - 17.7% of all ad spending

slide7

Buying Internet Advertising

1. CPM – “Cost Per Thousand” Impressions

What is an impression?An impression is the viewing of an advertising banner, link, or product on the Internet.

NOT a CPC – “Cost per Click”

CPM = Budget x 1000 / Impressions

i.e. = $800 x 1,000 / 100,000 impressions = 8 CPM

Cost of Campaign = CPM x Impressions / 1000

i.e. – 8 x 100,000 / 1000 = $800

Impressions = Budget x 1000 / cpm

i.e. $800 x 1000 / 8 = 100,000 Impressions

slide8

Buying Internet Advertising

2. Fixed Position Placement You have exclusive position with a banner ad in a fixed position on a web site. No guarantees on the number of views you banner will receive.

Online Shopping drives Offline Sales

16% of all retail sales are directly influenced by the Web.

how are banner ads served
How are banner ads served?

1,000,000 banners / mo

33,333 / day

1 out of every 120 banners

Internet Company XYZ

500,000 banners / mo

16,666 / day

1 out of every 240 banners

  • 123,000 million impressions each month in Washington, DC means an average of 4.1 Million Impressions / Banner ads required each day.

150,000 banners / mo

5,000 / day

1 out of every 800 banners

where will my ad be seen
Where will my ad be seen?

Every computer that communicates over the Internet is assigned an IP address by an Internet Service Provider that uniquely identifies the device and distinguishes it from other computers on the Internet.

Geo-Targeting of ads is based on your computers IP Address.

what makes a good ad
What Makes a Good Ad?

.51% CTR

.04% CTR

online advertising resources
Online Advertising Resources
  • Glossary of terms
  • Google Ad Glossary
  • Online Advertising Articles at Entrepreneur.com
  • Online Advertising Discussion List
  • Online Advertising Playbook
online advertising resources13
Online Advertising Resources
  • Free Emarketer Daily Newsletter
  • Hidden Online Advertising Costs
  • Google vs. Yahoo: A Nonprofit's Advertising Comparison
  • Wiser About the WebBusinessweek, March 2006
  • Best practice in online advertising