Ics 11 in tucson arizona
1 / 14

ICS ’11 in Tucson, Arizona - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on
  • Presentation posted in: General

ICS ’11 in Tucson, Arizona. General Chair: David K. Lowenthal (Arizona). PC Co-Chairs: Bronis R. de Supinski (LLNL) Sally A. McKee (Chalmers). Highlights. 5 Workshops and 5 Tutorials Technical program with 35 papers Poster session with 14 posters ACM Student Poster Competition

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.

Download Presentation

ICS ’11 in Tucson, Arizona

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript

ICS ’11 in Tucson, Arizona

General Chair:

David K. Lowenthal (Arizona)

PC Co-Chairs:

Bronis R. de Supinski (LLNL)

Sally A. McKee (Chalmers)


  • 5 Workshops and 5 Tutorials

  • Technical program with 35 papers

  • Poster session with 14 posters

  • ACM Student Poster Competition

  • Best paper award

  • Social events

    • Poster reception

    • Pima Air and Space Museum + Banquet

Three Keynotes

Sarita Adve, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Rethinking Shared-Memory Languages and Hardware

Steve Hammond, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Challenges and Opportunities in Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency

William D. Gropp, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Performance Modeling as the Key to Extreme Scale Computing

The Organizational Team

Chris Gniady

Conf. LocalArrangements

Boyana Norris

PC LocalArrangements



Daniele Scarpazza


Barry Rountree


Wu Feng


Vince Freeh


Daniel Faraj


The Organizational Team


Travel Grants

Kirk Cameron

Publicity (US)

Bernd Mohr

Publicity (Europe)

Shan Lu


Anne Bracy


Martin Schulz

Vice Chair


Platinum Sponsors:

Gold Sponsors:

Silver Sponsors:

Conference Arrangements

  • Technical sessions in Salon A and B (for split sessions)

    • Generally, single sessions before lunch and split sessions after lunch

  • Poster sessions

    • ACM Student Poster Competition: today at lunch

      • Finalists will give talks tomorrow at 1:30PM

    • General poster session (AMD) today at 7PM

  • Best paper/poster

    • Best paper session (Nvidia) today at 10:30AM

    • Awards presentation Friday morning

  • Food and Refreshments

    • Lunch buffet each day in the Flying V (outside, across parking lot)

    • Breakfast and coffee breaks in foyer outside Salon A

Flying V (Lunch)

Flying V


Things to do in Tucson

  • Museums

    • Desert Museum

    • Tucson Museum of Art

  • Cafes, Restaurants, Pubs

  • Southwestern Culture

  • Arts Performances (theater, music, symphony)

  • Outdoors: Golf, Hiking (many trails), Mt. Lemmon (9,000 feet)

  • Night Life

    • Congress Street

    • Fourth Avenue

Conference Outing

Pima Air and Space Museum + Banquet

Sponsored by Intel


  • Outstanding pool of submissions (161)

  • Accepted 22% (35 papers)

    • At least four reviews for all papers

    • Reviews by 70 PC members

    • Plus over 135 external reviewers

    • Two stage review process

    • Rebuttals overlapped with second review phase

  • Three “Best Paper Finalists” (next session)

Program Committee

  • PC Meeting

    • Arrangements by Boyana Norris

    • Held in Chicago on February 26, 2011

    • 47 attendees, several others by telephone

    • Discussed all papers with an average of weak accept or above

      • First round review average determined discussion threshold

      • Also discussed selected other papers

    • Finished on time, including best paper candidate selection

  • Special thanks to ICS11 Web Chair, Barry Rountree, for invaluable support in general and at the PC meeting in particular

Program Committee

Tor AamodtUniversity of British ColumbiaNancy M. AmatoTexas A&M UniversityDorian C. ArnoldUniversity of New MexicoSandroBartoliniUniversitadegliStudidi SienaTaisukeBokuUniversity of TsukubaDavid BrooksHarvard UniversityAlfredo ButtariInstitutde RechercheeInformatiquede Toulouse

Gregory T. ByrdNorth Carolina State UniversityJohn CarterIBMJacqueline ChameISI, University of Southern

CaliforniaAlmadenaChtchelkanovaNational Science FoundationJaewoongChungAMDMarcelo CintraUniversity of EdinburghJesus CorbalIntelLuiz De RoseCray, Inc.James Dehnert Google

Evelyn DuesterwaldIBMAlejandro DuranBarcelona Supercomputing CenterRudolf EigenmannPurdue University


Federale de Lausanne

Diana FranklinUniversity of California at

Santa Barbara

Todd GamblinLawrence Livermore

National LaboratoryAdaGavrilovskaGeorgia Institute of TechnologyRoberto GioiosaBarcelona Supercomputing CenterMaya GokhaleLawrence Livermore

National LaboratoryGaneshGopalakrishnanUniversity of UtahWilliam D. GroppUniversity of Illinois at

Urbana-ChampaignMary HallUniversity of UtahTorstenHoeflerUniversity of Illinois at

Urbana-ChampaignJeffrey K. HollingsworthUniversity of MarylandMary Jane IrwinPennsylvania State UniversityCanturkIsciIBM

Natalie EnrightJergerUniversity of TorontoLizy JohnUniversity of Texas at Austin

Russ JosephNorthwestern University

Program Committee

ZhilingLanIllinois Institute of TechnologyBenjamin C. LeeDuke UniversityRichard LethinReservoir Labs, Inc. and Yale University

Gabriel H. LohGeorgia Institute of Technology

and AMDSonia Lopez AlarconRochester Institute of

TechnologyNaoya MaruyamaTokyo Institute of TechnologyShirley MooreUniversity of TennesseeTaliMoreshetSwarthmore CollegeMatthias S. MuellerDresden University of

TechnologyYang NiIntelDimitriosNikolopoulosFORTH-ICS and

University of CreteBoyana NorrisArgonne National LaboratoryDaniel OrtegaIntel

PadmaRaghavanPennsylvania State UniversitySteven K. ReinhardtAMDSuzanne RivoireSonoma State University

Philip C. RothOak Ridge National LaboratoryValentinaSalapuraIBM

Martin SchulzLawrence Livermore

National LaboratoryKelly A. ShawUniversity of RichmondMagnus SjalanderChalmers University of TechnologyKevin Skadron                   University of VirginiaLauren L. Smith                 US Department of DefenseAllan Snavely                   San Diego Supercomputer CenterKarin Strauss                   Microsoft ResearchNathan Tallent                  Rice UniversityValerie Taylor                  Texas A&M UniversityPatricia J. Teller              University of Texas at El PasoRajeev Thakur                   Argonne National Laboratory

Gary TysonFlorida State UniversityThomas F. Wenisch University of MichiganPatrick WidenerEmory UniversityQing YiUniversity of Texas at San AntonioMohamed ZahranCUNY/NYULixin ZhangInstitute of Computing Technology,


  • Login