1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013
This presentation is the property of its rightful owner.
Sponsored Links
1 / 59

1 st Semester English International Approach Units 1 & 2 Review 2012-2013 PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 70 Views
  • Uploaded on
  • Presentation posted in: General

1 st Semester English International Approach Units 1 & 2 Review 2012-2013. What I Remember Review “Morning In The Desert”. 6/P. Shabanu has a camel, Mithoo , and goes to the toba with him. Goes to the toba (water hole) to wash her body and her hair.

Download Presentation

1 st Semester English International Approach Units 1 & 2 Review 2012-2013

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

1st Semester

English International Approach

Units 1 & 2 Review

2012-2013


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/P

Shabanu has a camel, Mithoo, and goes to the toba with him.

Goes to the toba (water hole) to wash her body and her hair.

Her sister, Phulan pushes her out of bed.

She filters the dirty water with the corner of her chador.

She carries the water pots on her head and under her arm.

When the monsoon rains come they have mushrooms and weddings.

The water supply is dwindling, it will be gone in 2 months


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/P

She washes herself with very little water.

Her mother washed 2 girls with just 1 cup of water.

She wakes up before the sun.

She washes with just a trickle of water.

She ties her soap into her chador to carry it.

She filters the impurities from the water with her chador.

They must travel around the desert to find more water.

She lives in the Cholistan Desert in Pakistan.

She pushes away the “scum” from the top of the water.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/P

Water and mud splash on her when she walks near the toba.

There are camel footprints around the toba.

Mithoo carries goatskin bags for water.

In the morning the sky is pearly grey.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“River Gypsies”

6/P

The river gypsies handle poisonous snakes, like cobras.

If the earth smells like fish, that means there is a snake inside the house.

The R.G.’s do shows with their snakes.

The R. G.’s wrap the snakes around their wrists.

The narrator’s friend, Babu, says that the 2 cobras are “husband and wife.”

They live near the water in Bangledesh.

Cooking pots were hung above the sideboard in the old man’s house.

One of the R.G.’s has a purple headscarf.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/P

The big ship’s captain has a diary and he writes down information about the R.G.’s life.

The captain will write about the R.G.

The R. G. lives with his family on a small boat.

The R. G. can drive out evil spirits.

The R.G. travels from one river settlement (village) to the next.

The R. G. lives “hand to mouth,” he doesn’t have anything extra, just what he needs for each day.

Tigers, robbers, storms, evil spirits all leave him alone.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/P

He trades beads, bangles, seashells and bamboo toys for food, clothes, newspapers, cans and bottles.

He trades with the big ships at their anchorage when the weather is good.

The rivers of Bangladesh are turbulent.

The R. G. is humble, he doesn’t think he is important or out of the ordinary.

The R.G.does things others won’t do like treat snake bites and drive out evil spirits.

The R.G. is poor but loves his life.

Bedeh is the name of the R.G.’s clan.

The R.G. marveled at the size of the big ship.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Can You? ”

6/P

The writer wants to buy some sky.

Can you sell me the air for 1, 5 or 10 dollars?

He wants pure air.

He wants to buy a storm.

One message is we must understand how important pure air is.

The air/sky is high in the clouds, it tangles your hair.

The air is windy.

The most important message is that the air belongs to everyone. This means, NO ONE OWNS IT, NO ONE!

The air/wind dances in the garden.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Can You? ”

6/P

The air spins and flits away like a butterfly.

The air is sometimes grey, sometimes blue.

It slips through your fingers and strokes your face.

Can you buy a slice or strip of sky or air?

The air can be delicate (soft and calm).

The air is like a poem.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Fog ”

6/P

The fog is so thick, you can’t see very much.

The old men wheeze in the dirty smoke and fog.

There is lots of smoke. Smoke + Fog = Smog.

Fog is everywhere! Up and down the river.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Glasgow Fog ”

6/P

It’s so foggy that the cars follow the trams.

Today there are smokeless zones and busses so Glasgow doesn’t need the trams as much.

Written the 1950’s.

The cars follow the trams like ducks following their mother.

It’s dangerous for cars because they can get lost.

The trams crept along like ghostly ships.

There is also thick fog in Glasgow, Scotland.

You can’t see your hand in front of your face.

The cars follow the right numbered tram to their destination.

Swimming competition is cancelled because of the fog.

Usually the cars think the trams are a nuisance but in the fog, the cars need and follow the trams.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/P

It’s a huge building but now its walls are yellow from air pollution.

It was built to honor Shah Jehan’s wife, MumtazMahal when she died. It is her tomb.

She died giving birth to her 14th child.

Shah Jehan was a Moghul king.

Mumtaz’ real name was Banu Begum.

There is beautiful inlaid marble in the TajMahal

It’s in India.

It has a huge gateway that is 100 ft. high and 150 ft. wide.

Shah Jehan is buried next to his wife in the T. M.

There are some beautifully written verses from the Quran written in calligraphy.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/R

Shabanu has a camel named Mithoo.

The watering hole in the desert is a “toba”

Mithoo’s bells jingled as he walked

She lives in a tent

Very little water in the desert, water is “dwindling”

Camel hoof prints in the clay around the toba

Difficult life in the desert, very little grows there

It’s very very hot!!!!! But cold at night

Washed hair and body with soap with little water

Mother washed 2 girls with 1 cup of water

Carried water on her head and under her arm.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/R

She wore a chador and tunic

Sand everywhere

Sky is pearl grey

Used a padded ring to balance the water pot

Covered the spout of the jar with her chador to filter the water

Weddings sand parties happen during the monsoon rains.

Now only one month of water left at the toba.

They have to find a new toba


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“River Gypsies”

6/R

The River Gypsies handle snakes, especially cobras.

Babu, the narrator’s friend is from India.

The R.G.’s live in Bangladesh.

The old man has cobras in his house.

Babu says that the 2 cobras in the old man’s house are “husband and wife.”

The R. G.’s grabbed the cobras before they could attack.

The R.G.’s did shows with the snakes, they came out of boxes and would wind around the R.G.’s wrists like green bangles.

One of the R.G.’s had a purple headscarf.

If the earth smells like fish, there are cobras in the house.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“River Gypsies”

6/R

There was a crowd and the old man caused a disturbance when he asked for the R.G.’s help.

There is 1 cobra under the sideboard and 1 under the bed.

Behind the old man’s house are rice fields.

The R. G.’s carry their snakes in special boxes.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/R

The rivers in Bangladesh are turbulent.

Tigers, storms, robbers and evil spirits (demons) are all afraid (stay away from) of the R.G.

They exchange beads, bangles and bamboo toys for food, clothes, newspapers, cans and bottles.

The captain of the English ship marvels at the R.G.’s life. The R.G. marvels at the big English ship.

In good weather the R.G. rows his boat out to meet the big ocean going ships.

The R.G. treats snake-bites and drives out evil spirits.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/R

The R.G. lives on a small boat with his wife and children.

The R. G. is poor, he doesn’t need much, he lives “hand to mouth.”

The captain writes the R.G.’s name and about his life in his notebook.

The captain will write a story about the R.G.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“CanYou?”

6/R

It’s about air.

It slips through your fingers.

Can you buy some air with 5, or 10 dollars?

The writer says, “Can you sell me a dollar’s worth of sky?”

The writer wants pure air.

The air spins and flits away like a butterfly.

The delicate air dances in your garden.

Wants to buy a strip or slice of air or sky.

NO ONE OWNS IT, NO ONE!

The sky is high in the clouds.

The air tangles your hair.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Fog ”

6/R

Smoke coming down out of chimneys.

Old men wheezing from the smoke from their fireplaces.

Fog like misty clouds everywhere.

Black “sooty” flakes as big as big snowflakes.

Soft black drizzle.

Up and down the river, everywhere is foggy.

People peeping over the bridge as if they’re heads were floating in the fog.

As if people were hanging in a balloon in the mist.

The air is really dirty!


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Glasgow Fog ”

6/R

The fog is so bad they couldn’t do the swimming competition (gala). You couldn’t see from one end of the pool to the other.

The cars follow the tramway because the trams are on rails that won’t go the wrong way, even though the driver can’t see ahead.

Your couldn’t see your hand in front of your face.

The writer runs into a lamp post.

The car drivers usually thought that the trams were a nuisance but in the fog, they are helpful.

Today the industrial zone has been moved outside of the city so the fog is not so bad.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/R

The TajMahal is in India.

It is the tomb of MumtazMahal—the wife of Shah Jehan.

The book writes the transcript of the audio guide for the TajMahal.

There are beautifully written verses from the Quran in calligraphy.

The white marble walls have become yellow because of pollution. They are using face mask creams to restore the white marble.

It has a huge gateway that is 100 ft. high and 150 ft. wide.

There is a mosque on one side of the TajMahal.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/R

It is one of the most iconic buildings in the world.

There is a guest house on one side of the T.M.

There are beautiful gems inlaid in the marble, done by skillful tradesmen.

The T.M. is in the town of Agra.

There is a big garden and lots of tourists come to see the T.M.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/S

Camel named Mithoo

Shabanu lives in a tent

Her sister pushed her out of bed, she yawned and rubbed her eyes

She carries water on her head and under her arm

Takes soap to the toba (watering hole) and washes her hair and body with very little water

Wears a chador and tunic

Her mother washed 2 girls with 1 cup of water

The sun is very hot, the water supply is dwindling


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/S

Mithoo’s bells bangle as he walks.

The sky was pearly grey in the morning.

She filtered the water with her chador.

She goes to the toba with her camel

Mithoo was very excited to go to the toba

The desert is sandy

The monsoon rains won’t come for 2 months and the water at the toba will only last 3 more weeks or one month so they must move.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“River Gypsies”

6/S

The River Gypsies is about snakes, especially cobras

The writer’s friend’s name is Babu.

The R. G.s like helping people.

The snakes wrap around the R.G.s wrists.

There are 2 cobras in the old man’s house, under the sideboard and under the bed.

The R. G.s caught and kept the 2 cobras.

The smelled the earth and it smelled like fish so they knew that the cobras were in the house.

One of the R.G.s had a purple headscarf.

Babu says the cobras are “husband and wife.”

The R. G.s like snakes and use them in their shows.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“River Gypsies”

6/S

There were rice fields in the backyard.

They have boxes for the snakes.

Takes place in Bangledesh in a village.

The writer cowers on the old man’s bed.

The old man has a snake in his house (2)

The old man’s kitchen and bed are in the same room.

The cobras are poisonous and dangerous.

The R.G.s are very quick handling the snakes

and they are very brave.

The old man caused a commotion and asked the R. G. for help.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/S

The R.G. knows a lot of words.

He is brave and does things others won’t do, such as treat snake bites and drive out evil spirits.

They survive with very little, they live “hand to mouth.”

“Bedeh” is the writer’s clan’s name.

He lives on his small boat with his wife and children.

Tigers, robbers, snakes and demons (evil spirits) are afraid of him (stay away from him).

In good weather, he visits the big ships and trades (exchanges) beads, bangles and bamboo toys for food, clothes, newspapers, cans and bottles.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/S

The captain marvels at the R.G.’s lifestyle.

The captain writes the R.G.’s name and information about his lifestyle because one day he will write about the R.G. and his family.

The R. G marvels at the size of the big English ship.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Can You? ”

6/S

The wind dances in the garden.

The writer wants to buy the air/sky for 1, 5, 10 dollars.

He loves the pure air.

NO ONE OWNS THE AIR!!!!

The sky is sometimes blue, sometimes grey.

He says he wants to buy the wind or a storm.

The air slips through your fingers, strokes your face and tangles your hair.

The air spins and flits away like a butterfly.

The writer wants to buy a slice or piece of sky.

Air is beautiful and important.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Can You? ”

6/S

Can you buy the air above the trees you bought?

The air is not like the roof of a house.

The air is delicate (soft and nice).


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Fog ”

6/S

The fog is so thick it looks like people are hanging in the clouds

The old men are wheezing because of the smoke from their fireplaces.

The people are looking over the bridge.

The smoke makes a soft black drizzle.

Smoke + Fog = Smog.

Fog is EVERYWHERE!


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Glasgow Fog ”

6/S

Not just dirty fog. There was thick white fog.

The cars don’t like the trams, but in the fog, the cars follow the trams.

The swimming pool closed because of fog, not pollution.

One car followed tram #8 to the city center.

They needed fog lights to see.

The city is fixed beneath the wheels of the trams.

Today the industrial fog zones have been moved outside the city and they don’t need the trams.

The trams crept along like ghostly ships.

The writer ran into a lamp post.

Written in the 1950’s.

You couldn’t see your hand in front of your face.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/S

The beautiful white TajMahal marble walls are being restored because of pollution.

It has a huge gateway 100 ft. high and 150 ft. wide made of many different metals. It is very impressive!

It is in India.

The TajMahal was built for Shah Jehan’s wife, MumtazMahal when she died. She had 14 children.

The T.M. is very beautifully decorated to honourMumtazMahal.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/S

Has beautiful calligraphy with verses from the Quran.

In front there is a reflecting pool.

Made during the empire of Shah Jehan.

Mumtaz was from a rich Persian family.

Decorated with beautiful inlaid stones (gems)

They are using body creams to restore the white marble.

There is a mosque on one side and a guest house on the other.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/S

They are using body creams to restore the white marble.

There is a mosque on one side and a guest house on the other.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/T

Shabanu yawned when she woke up

She went to the toba (watering hole)

She carried water pots on her head and under her arm. The desert is very very hot!!!!

The water supply is dwindling

She went with her camel Mithoo.

She washed her hair and her body with very little water.

The monsoon rains bring needed water but they won’t come for 2 more months! They must find another toba.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/T

Her mother washed 2 girls with 1 cup of water!

When the monsoon rains come, they can have weddings and parties and mushrooms.

She wore a chador and tunic.

She took soap to wash at the toba.

She filtered the water with her chador.

She pushed away the scum from the top of the water and pulled up her tunic.

Her sister, Phulan, pushed her out of bed.

When she left her tent, Mithoo was very excited to go to the toba.

In the desert they dry herbs.

She went with her camel Mithoo.

She washed her hair and her body with very little water.

The monsoon rains bring needed water but they won’t come for 2 more months! They must find another toba.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“River Gypsies”

6/T

The River Gypsies: The old man caused a commotion when he came to ask for help from the R.G.s.

The R.G. smelled the earth and, because it smelled like fish, they knew there was a snake in the house.

There are 2 snakes (cobra) in the old man’s house.

The writer’s friend, Babu, said that the snakes were faithful partners, “husband and wife.”

The R. G.s put the cobras in boxes (coaxed).

The R. G.s quickly caught the cobras from under the sideboard and the bed.

The R. G.s first play with the snakes and do a show.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“River Gypsies”

6/T

The old man beckoned the R.G.s to his house.

The old man told the foreigner (narrator) to go on to the bed, the safest place.

There was a big crowd.

The snakes were hissing.

The R.G.s were in Bangladesh.

One of the R.G.s has a purple headscarf.

The friend, Babu, is from India.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/T

The R.G.s live in a small boat with his wife and children.

The ship’s captain marvelled at the R. G.’s life.

Bedeh is the name of his clan (people, tribe).

The rivers of Bangladesh are turbulent.

The R. G. lives “hand to mouth.” He doesn’t need much.

The R.G. exchanges beads, bangles and bamboo toys for food, clothes, newspapers, cans and bottles

He can drive out demons (evil spirits).

The R. G. does things others are afraid of like treating snake.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/T

Storms, tigers, demons, robbers and snakes are afraid of the R.G. and stay away from him.

The captain marvels at the life of the R.G., he writes down their names and says he will write about them one day.

The R. G. is humble.

He goes to the big ships at the mouth of the river where the ships are anchored.

The R.G. is the writer, Shafi Ahmed


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Can You?”

6/T

The writer loves the air. He wants to buy it.

No one owns the air, NO ONE!!!

He wants to buy the sky or storms.

He wants even a small strip of sky.

The air spins and flits like a butterfly and tangles your hair.

He wants to buy the pure air.

He will pay 1, 5, or 10 dollars for the sky.

The air dances in your garden.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Fog ”

6/T

Big soot flakes come out of the chimneys.

Fog EVERYWHERE! Up and down the river.

Old men are wheezing from the dirty fog.

Smoke comes pouring out of the chimneys.

Smoke + Fog = “smog.”


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Glasgow Fog ”

6/T

It’s so foggy that the safest mode of transportation is not the car, but the tramway.

The swimming competition was cancelled because of fog.

This thick fog is in Scotland.

The cars don’t like the trams when there isn’t any fog, but in the fog, they follow them like ducks following their mother.

The tramway rails are fixed beneath the tram wheels.

You couldn’t see your hand in front of your face.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/T

The TajMahal is in India.

Shah Jehan built the TajMahal to honor his wife, MumtazMahal who had died.

It is her tomb and also Shah Jehan is buried there.

There are beautifully written verses from the Quran written in calligraphy.

There is beautiful in laid marble.

The building is very impressive. The gateway is 100 ft. high and 150 ft. wide and made from different metals.

There is a guest house on one side and a mosque on the other.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/T

The white marble has become yellow because of pollution.

They are putting “face mask” mud/cream on the marble.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/U

Shabanu’s sister, Phulan pushed her out of bed.

She takes two earthen pots and soap to the toba (water hole).

She lives in a tent.

They move from one place to another when the water is gone from one place. Now they only have 1 month’s worth of water.

It is very hot and the water supply is dwindling.

Her camel’s name is Mithoo.

When the monsoon rains come they have weddings and mushrooms and flowers and spices.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/U

Shabanu lives in the very hot desert, without much water.

She washes herself with soap at the toba.

Mithoo drinks water at the toba and leaves footprints.

She wakes before the sun.

She balances the pots on her head and on her hip (under her arm)

In the morning the sky was pearly grey

Monsoon rains come twice a year.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Morning In The Desert”

6/U

The water at the toba will be finished in 1 month but the monsoon rains won’t come for two months so they must find another toba.

She wears a tunic and chador

She yawned and rubbed her eyes when she woke up.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“River Gypsies”

6/U

It’s about cobras and other snakes

The River Gypsies find 2 cobras in the old man’s house and they say they are “husband and wife.”

They do shows with their snakes and earn money from them.

They smelled the earth and since it smelled like fish, they knew that the cobras were in the house.

The old man wants the R.G.’s help

The narrator watches from the bed

The old man was pleased to see foreigner.

The gypsy with a purple head scarf caught the cobra under the sideboard


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/U

The ship’s captain was amazed at the R.G.’s life and how he survived.

The captain will write about the R.G.’s life because his life is very different.

The R. G.’s life is “hand to mouth”. They don’t need much, they eat what they find.

They live in very little boats.

When the river is good the R.G. go to the big ships at the mouth of the river and exchange things.

The R.G. gives beads, bangles and bamboo toys and sea shells. He gets food, clothes, newspapers, cans and bottles.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Bedeh”

6/U

The R.G. is Shafi Ahmed.

Tigers, storms, snakes and evil spirits are all afraid of the R.G. , they stay away from him.

Their needs are small and simple.

He’s humble and he thinks his life is normal.

The R.G. marvels at the big ship.

The captain writes down the R.G.’s name and information about his life.

He will write about their life some day.

Bedeh is the name of his clan, it means River Gypsy.

He can treat snake bites. He drives out evil spirits and does things others won’t do.

The rivers of Bangladesh are very turbulent.

When the river is good the R.G. go to the big ships at the mouth of the river and exchange things.

The R.G. gives beads, bangles and bamboo toys and sea shells. He gets food, clothes, newspapers, cans and bottles.

.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Can You? ”

6/U

NO ONE OWNS THE AIR.

Can you sell me the air/sky?

The poet is Nicolas Guillen.

The air spins and flits away like a butterfly.

The air slips through your fingers and tangles your hair and strokes your face. Can I buy it?

The poem is about how wonderful and FREE the air is.

He wants to buy some air/sky with 1, 5 or 10 dollars.

The air is delicate (sweet, soft).

He wants pure air, two miles of sky. High in the clouds.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Fog”

6/U

Fog is everywhere! Up the river, down the river and in the eyes.

The old men are wheezing from the fog/smoke of their fires.

The smoke/fog is drizzling with black (sooty) flakes.

Smoke + Fog = Smog.

The smoke comes down out of the chimneys.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“Glasgow Fog ”

6/U

It was so foggy that the swimming competition was cancelled.

The cars follow the trams like ducklings following their mother because they are afraid of getting lost

Trams were the only vehicles that knew where they were going.

Fog is not just in London, there is a lot in Glasgow, Scotland too.

People couldn’t see the end of the pool, or even their hand in front of their faces.

The cars follow the correct number tram to go to the city.

The fog was murky.

Cars usually think the trams are a nusiance but in the fog the cars need them to follow them.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/U

It is a Muslim place, it’s very big and made from sandstone.

You can take an audio tour of the TajMahal.

There is beautiful white marble with inlaid gems made by skillful workmen.

Shah Jehan built the TajMahal to honor his wife, MumtazMahal who had died.

It’s her tomb and he is buried there also.

Mumtaz was very pretty and smart.

There is a guest house on one side and a mosque on the other.

Shah Jehan was a Moghul King.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/U

Mumtaz was from a rich Persian family.

Mumtaz’ original name was Banu Begum.

She died giving birth to her 14th child.

They are restoring the white marble of the TajMahal because it has turned yellow from pollution.

The tombs are in the middle of the T.M.

The gateway is huge, 100 ft. high and 150 ft. wide.

The restoration was the first 3 months of 2008 and 2009.

They are covering the walls with “multanimitti” face-mask clay/cream used in beauty treatments.

The TajMahal is in Agra, India.


1 st semester english international approach units 1 2 review 2012 2013

What I Remember Review

“The TajMahal”

6/U

It’s an iconic building.

The gateway is made of 8 different metals, it is very impressive.

The T.M. is huge!


  • Login