European interactive advertising trends tracking research from iab europe jupiterresearch
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European Interactive Advertising Trends Tracking Research from IAB Europe & JupiterResearch. October 2005. Tracking Survey overview. First, inaugural joint survey between JR & IAB Europe JR need – to access industry executives across Europe

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European interactive advertising trends tracking research from iab europe jupiterresearch

European Interactive Advertising TrendsTracking Research from IAB Europe & JupiterResearch

October 2005


Tracking survey overview

Tracking Survey overview

  • First, inaugural joint survey between JR & IAB Europe

  • JR need – to access industry executives across Europe

  • IAB need – to generate additional research data and analysis on industry trends

  • Fielded across Europe through IAB leaders to Online Advertisers & Online Media Owners

  • Conducted August / September 2005

  • 27 advertisers / 53 publisher respondents


Research key findings

Research Key Findings

  • While money steadily flows into the online advertising industry stakeholders are recognizing the importance of, but struggling to deliver, better:

    • Targeting

    • Optimization

    • Integration

    • Consumer Engagement


European interactive advertising trends tracking research from iab europe jupiterresearch

  • Content owners are experiencing greater website usage and participation


Content owners are noticing online media consumption growing and becoming more active

Content Owners are Noticing Online Media Consumption Growing and Becoming More Active

Percentage of Media Owners

Question: “Please state to what extent you agree or disagree with the following statements:”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Publisher n = 53 (Western Europe only)


Content owners also noticing increasing site usage and loyalty amongst registered users

Content Owners also Noticing Increasing Site Usage and Loyalty Amongst Registered Users

67% experienced increase

Question: “How has the number of active registered users (who visit your website at least once a month) change over the last 12 months?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Publisher n = 45 (Western Europe only)


Half of european content owners have seen their opt in database grow in last 12 months

Half of European Content Owners Have Seen their Opt-in Database grow in last 12 months

50% experienced increase

Question: “How did the size of your opted-in user database change over the last 12 months?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Publisher n = 53 (Western Europe only)


Majority of content owners offer and receive a level of audience participation

Majority of Content Owners Offer, and Receive, A Level of Audience Participation

Percentage of Online Media owners

Question: “In which of the following ways do you enable visitors to interact with your site?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey (9/05), Publisher n = 53 (Western Europe only)


60 percent of european content owners offer or plan to offer rss content feeds

60 percent of European Content owners Offer, or plan to Offer, RSS Content Feeds

Percentage of Content Owners

Question: “What are your company’s plans for publishing content via RSS news feed?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Publisher n = 53 (Western Europe only)


European interactive advertising trends tracking research from iab europe jupiterresearch

  • Content owners are expecting growth to slow despite revenue diversification & increasing impressions


European online publishers expect revenue growth to slow despite growing web usage

European Online Publishers Expect Revenue Growth to Slow Despite Growing Web Usage

44% experienced >25% growth 04 to 05 Only 21% expect >25% growth 05 to 06

Percentage of Online Media owners

Question:“How did your total website advertising revenue change in the first half 2005 compared to first half 2004?”

Question:“How do you expect your total website advertising revenue to change in the first half 2006 compared to first half 2005?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Publisher n = 53 (Western Europe only)


A more sophisticated blend of content attached online ad options is emerging

A More Sophisticated Blend of Content Attached Online Ad Options is Emerging

Display Ad Format

Ad Type

Question: “How was your total website advertising revenue in 2004 distributed among the following formats?”

Question: “How did different formats contribute to your total display advertising revenue in 2004?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Publisher n = 53 (Western Europe only)


Content owners are increasingly competing for budget against paid search

Content Owners Are Increasingly Competing For Budget Against Paid Search

Question: “How is your online advertising media budget allocated among each of the following formats?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Advertiser n = 27 (Western Europe only)


Content owners are increasingly competing against cpc cpa buying models

Content Owners Are Increasingly Competing Against CPC / CPA Buying Models

Question: “How is your online advertising media budget allocated among each of the following payment models?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Advertiser n = 27 (Western Europe only)


Content owners are looking to increasing impressions before new advertisers

Content Owners Are Looking to Increasing Impressions Before New Advertisers

Percentage of Media Owners

Question: “Which of the following tactics are you planning to use to improve online revenue performance in 2004 / 2005?” (Please select up to 3.)

Source: JupiterResearch Executive Survey (5/04), n = 30 / (9/05) n = 53 (Online Media Owners, Western Europe only)


Online targeting issues

Online Targeting issues

  • Advertisers Struggling to Achieve Better Online Targeting & Media selection in an increasingly competitive environment

    • In Paid Search – keyword selection, dayparting, geo-targeting

    • In Display advertising – placement selection (measurement issues), format selection, technology selection

    • In email – list management, segmentation, personalization, timing and frequency


European interactive advertising trends tracking research from iab europe jupiterresearch

Key Challenges in Online Media P&B are Targeting & Placement Selection in Increasingly Competitive Landscape

Percentage of Advertisers

Question: “Thinking about online media planning and buying, what do you see as the main challenges in reaching online consumers over the next 12 months? ”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Advertisers n = 27 (Western Europe only)


Delivery of personalized targeted offerings primary challenge to future customer acquisition

Delivery of Personalized, Targeted Offerings Primary Challenge to Future Customer Acquisition

Percentage of Advertisers

Question: “What do you see as the main challenges to acquiring and satisfying customers over the next few years?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Advertisers n = 27 (Western Europe only)


Three quarters of online content owners agree advertisers looking for better targeting

Three Quarters of Online Content Owners Agree Advertisers Looking for Better Targeting

To what extent do you agree / disagree with the following statement: “Advertisers are looking for more advanced targeting on my site ”

Source: IAB / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Publisher n = 43 (Western Europe only)


Online optimization issues

Online Optimization issues

  • Advertisers struggling to find the balance between time / effort in v. reward out in optimization

    • Finding the time and resource to optimize

    • Selecting the right tools to optimize

    • Achieving optimal level of optimization


Compounded by data gathering analysis issues

Compounded by Data Gathering / Analysis issues

  • Advertisers struggling to collate, synthesize, interpret and act upon campaign performance data available to them

    • Abundance of performance data a help and hindrance – hard to see the wood from the trees

    • Multiple platforms offering multiple reporting tools

    • Not one consistent marketing dashboard available


Compounded by measurement evaluation issues

Compounded by Measurement & Evaluation issues

  • Advertisers struggling to measure the complete impact of the online advertising investment

    • Myopic focus on click through (because you can)

    • Lack of understanding of the prolonged, delayed response, attitudinal / brand perception shifts

    • Impact offline

    • Few appreciating the value of online brand engagement


Advertisers spend most time optimizing evaluating campaigns

Advertisers Spend Most Time Optimizing & Evaluating Campaigns

Percentage of Advertisers

Question: “Thinking about resources, time and effort spent, what do you see as the main challenges in managing your online marketing over the last 12 months?’

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Advertisers n = 27 (Western Europe only)


Three quarters of online content owners agree advertisers looking for better tracking reporting

Three Quarters of Online Content Owners Agree Advertisers Looking for Better Tracking & Reporting

To what extent do you agree / disagree with the following statement: “Advertisers are looking for more advanced tracking & reporting”

Source: IAB / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Publisher n = 43 (Western Europe only)


Integration issues

Integration issues

  • Advertisers struggling to develop truly integrated communication strategies for cross-channel consistencies

    • Silos still remain

    • Planning / Briefing process still has digital as secondary consideration

    • Pre-campaign planning and post-campaign measurement still disjointed


Delivery of consistent integrated messages second key challenge to future customer acquisition

Delivery of Consistent, Integrated Messages Second Key Challenge to Future Customer Acquisition

Percentage of Advertisers

Question: “What do you see as the main challenges to acquiring and satisfying customers over the next few years?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Advertisers n = 27 (Western Europe only)


Consumer engagement issues

Consumer Engagement issues

  • Advertisers struggling to engage with increasingly empowered digital consumers

    • Consumers becoming harder to reach, engage, persuade and satisfy

    • Need to gain opt-in, permission, willing engagement

    • Need to deliver compelling, engaging content


As digital platform usage grows consumers will find themselves ever more empowered

Increased ability to access & sift abundance of info

Increased ability to communicate, interconnect & congregate

Increased ability to gain on-demand satisfaction

Increased ability to publish selfexpression

Increased ability to customize consumption

As Digital Platform Usage Grows Consumers Will Find Themselves Ever More Empowered

Enabling Digital Platforms

Source: JupiterResearch 10/05


Marketers must shift communication strategies to to accommodate empowered consumers

CONSUMER

Fragmented

Heterogeneous

Active (Participant)

Informed

Interconnected

High Expectations

Converged media consumption

MARCOMS

Targeted Narrowcast

Multi-dimensional

Inclusive Dialogue

Rich infotainment

Consumer authority

Consumer-dictated delivery

Channel integration

CONSUMER

Aggregated

Homogeneous

Passive (Receiver)

Uninformed

Disconnected

Low expectations

Singular media consumption

MARCOMS

Mass Broadcast

One-dimensional

Intrusive Monologue

Basic information

Advertiser authority

Organization-dictated delivery

Channel silos

Marketers Must Shift Communication Strategies to To Accommodate Empowered Consumers

REQUIRED SHIFT IN MARCOMS APPROACH

Post-digital

Pre-digital

Source: JupiterResearch 10/05


Creative execution issues

Creative Execution issues

  • Poor integration, at early stage, leads to digital creative often advertising the advertising + “matching luggage’ syndrome

    • Over-dominance of the ATL agency / TV commercial (linear message doesn’t include offer to participate)

    • Digital creative execution often an afterthought

    • Little interactivity at core of a creative idea


Compelling content consumer control key to building loyalty

Compelling Content & Consumer Control Key To Building Loyalty

Percentage of Advertisers

Question: “What do you see as the best tactics to build loyalty and avoid switching amongst your online target audience?”

Source: IAB Europe / JupiterResearch Executive Survey 08/05, Advertisers n = 27 (Western Europe only)


Summary of key findings

Summary of Key Findings

  • Key Challenges in Online Marketing are:

    • Channel Integration

    • Outstanding Creative Execution

    • Relevancy & Targeting

    • Data Gathering / Analysis

    • Campaign Optimization

    • Measurement & Evaluation

  • In the context of Growing Consumer Empowerment


What s holding the industry back

What’s Holding the Industry back?

  • Lack of standardized Audience Measurement

  • Lack of Audience Identification / Insight

  • Lack of Appreciation of the Changing Nature of Consumers

  • Difficulties in Data Analysis / Integration

  • Too much Channel Protectionism (Silos still exist)

  • Too little Integrated Planning, Creative execution, Campaign Measurement

  • Lack of Skilled, Experienced Resource - Data analysts / Optimizers


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