http://www.potterlawoffice.com/ : Underage DUI is considered a very seious offense in Ohio. Not just its punishable in law, it can also limit your educational and employment opportunities. If you are arrested for underage DUI, its best to contact a expert DUI attorney as soon as possible.
Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.
Underage DUI in Ohio
Underage DUI’sare also called OVUAC or “operating a vehicle after underage
consumption”. Ohio is one of many states that have adopted a “zero tolerance”
policy toward underage drinking.
What it Mean?
In accordance with its zero tolerance policy, the legal BAC limit for juveniles is
lower. It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 or higher if
you are a driver under 21. You will be arrest for OVUAC if you are under 21 and
your blood alcohol level is over 0.02% but less 0.8%. If your blood alcohol level is
over 0.08% then you will be arrested for an OVI, despite the fact that you are a
Consequences of Underage DUI
If you are convicted of OVUAC, you will be found guilty of a fourth
degree misdemeanor and your license will be suspended from two months to
three years. If this is your second (or more) OVI/OVUAC offense, then it will be a
third degree misdemeanor and you will face a license suspension of 1-5 years.
Arrested for OVUAC
If you are arrested for OVUAC (operating a vehicle after underage consumption)
or if you are under 18 and facing OVI charges then you will not face additional
penalties than an adult arrested for DUI but you will face different penalties. An
OVUAC will get your four points on your driving record. You will also have to pay a
You will be required to participate in a juvenile driver improvement
program approved by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles and you lose your
license, forcing you to retake the driver’s license exam after your license
suspension. An OVUAC will get your four points on your driving record. You will
also have to pay a reinstatement fee.
Penalty and Fine
After these conditions have been satisfied, the BMV will restore full driving
privileges. You are not eligible for limited driving privileges if you are convicted of
an OVUAC or an OVI under the age of 18. For persons under 21 years of age who
are convicted of OVI, a first offense can result in up to 30 days of jail time, a fine
of up to $250, and a license suspension of between 90 days to two years and four
points could be added to your driving record.
Don’t Let a DUI Ruin Your Record
Contact our office to obtain legal representation for your case. Skip Potter has
been practicing defense law for over 30 years. Let him, help you. Contact the
office now to schedule a confidential consultation.
Contact Skip Potter Law Office
Skip Potter Law Office
107 E. Oak Street
Bowling Green, Ohio,43402
Phone : 419.353.7547