Convocation fall 2013
1 / 48

Convocation Fall 2013 - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

  • Uploaded on
  • Presentation posted in: General

Convocation Fall 2013. Sarah A. Rajala Dean James & Katherine Melsa Professor of Engineering. Welcome and Introduction. Goals for 2013-14. D eliver a high quality education to all of our students Hire at least 17 new, diverse, high-quality faculty members

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.

Download Presentation

Convocation Fall 2013

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript

ConvocationFall 2013

Sarah A. Rajala


James & Katherine MelsaProfessor of Engineering

Welcome andIntroduction

Goals for 2013-14

  • Deliver a high quality education to all of our students

  • Hire at least 17 new, diverse, high-quality faculty members

  • Develop a new model for Engineering Online to encourage growth, new pedagogical development and sustainability

  • Increase the number of graduate students who have been enrolled or accepted admission by 5%

  • Expand research portfolio and increase expenditures by 7.5%

  • Develop a new plan for renovation and expansion of CoE space

  • Raise $22M in new private gifts

Role of Educating Students

  • Educating tomorrow’s engineering leaders

  • Focus on strong academics

  • ABET accreditation

  • Global and engaged learning

Engineering Undergraduate Enrollment

Engineering Graduate Enrollment

Faculty and Staff

  • Importance of high quality faculty and staff

  • More than 400 faculty and staff critical to our success

  • All are dedicated to student achievement

Welcome New Engineering Faculty


Norman Muzzy - Lecturer


Zengyi Shao - Assistant Professor


JunwonSeo- Research Assistant Professor

Jiehua J Shen- Associate Professor

An Chen - Assistant Professor


IkennaNlebedim– Adjunct Assistant Professor

SiddarthaKhaitan– Research Assistant Professor

Meng Lu - Assistant Professor (ECpE/ME)

Kathryn Stolee- Assistant Professor


Caroline Krejci- Assistant Professor


XianglanBai- Assistant Professor

Ming-Chen Hsu- Assistant Professor

Travis Sippel - Assistant Professor


EliseodeLeon - Lecturer

AnjaMudring- Professor

Ruifeng Zhang - Research Assistant Professor

Welcome New Engineering Staff


Tamara Kerns – Academic Advisor

Joshua Kruse - AccountantDana Woolley – Communications Specialist (ABE/AERE)


Tracy Borts - Program Assistant

Kelsey Hummer - Program Assistant

Andrew Jordan - Teaching Lab Associate

Cameron Rayburn – Academic Advisor

Katrina Williams – Academic Advisor

Christine Jensen - Teaching Lab Associate


Michael Forrester - Assistant Scientist

Jennifer Gibbs – Academic Adviser

Michelle Grawe- Teaching Lab Coordinator

Molly Seaboch- Program Assistant


Traci Goldberg - Academic Advisor

Paul Ledtje- Research Associate

Jennifer Simba- Academic Advisor


Helen Drake – Program Assistant

Carrie Graves-Warden– Academic Advisor

Benjamin Holland – Research Associate

Lucinda Sheehy – Academic Advisor


Angela Stone - Administrative Specialist

Holly Twedt - Program Assistant

Welcome New Engineering Staff


Cindy Bartleson- Administrative Specialist

Derek Dickson - System Support

Mallory Quinn - Program Assistant

Craig Severson - Teaching Lab Coordinator


Cory Johns - Desktop Systems Administrator

Jacqueline Kester- Program Assistant

Michelle Lenkaitis - Administrative Specialist

College RelationsAnn Wilson – Director

Career Services

Kellie Mullaney- Program Assistant

Engineering-LAS Online Learning

Sonya Nichols - Instructional Support

Jane Tomesch- Program Coordinator

Engineering Research Institute

Deborah Moses - Program Coordinator

Rachael Voas- Administrative Specialist

Student Services

Jeana Gingery - Program Coordinator

Nancy Jeffs- Program Coordinator

Technology Support

Kevin Wickham – System Analyst


Chris Hill- Industrial Specialist

Peter Nadolny-Program Manager

Carey Novak - Industrial Specialist

Glenn Volkman- Program Manager

Promotions in the Engineering College

  • Hui Hu (AERE) to Professor

  • Eric Cochran (CBE) to Associate Professor

  • Nadia Gkritza (CCEE) to Associate Professor

  • RanganGopalakrishnan (CCEE) to Senior Lecturer

  • DionysiosAliprantis (ECpE) to Associate Professor

  • SumitChaudhary (ECpE) to Associate Professor

  • Chris Chu (ECpE) to Professor

  • Liang Dong (ECpE) to Associate Professor

  • Lizhi Wang (IMSE) to Associate Professor

  • Gap Kim (ME) to Associate Professor

  • Xiaoli Tan (MSE) to Professor

General Fund Revenue Budget$86 Million





Engineering Budgets for Academicand Administration











Engineering Research Expenditures






Engineering Facilities Update

Medallion Awards

  • Named faculty positions established with private support enable the college to attract and retain world-class professors and researchers

  • Thank you to the donors who established these prestigious positions

  • Recognize 13 recipients

Ashraf BastawrosGrace Miller Wilson and T. WilsonEndowed Engineering Faculty Fund

SumitChaudharyNorthrop Grumman Professorship in honor of Fred W. O’Green

Kristen Constant Wilkinson Professorof Interdisciplinary Engineering

Randall Geiger Tunc and LaleDolucaProfessorshipin Electrical and Computer Engineering

Caroline HayesLynn Gleason Professorship in Interdisciplinary Engineering

Andrew Hillier Wilkinson Professorof Interdisciplinary Engineering

Charles JahrenW.A. Klinger Teaching Professorship

SurajKothari Willard & Leitha Richardson Professorship in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Richard LesarLynn Gleason Professorshipin Interdisciplinary Engineering

AnjaMudringGlenn MurphyProfessor of Engineering

Krishna RajanWilkinson Professorof Interdisciplinary Engineering

Janis TerpennyJoseph Walkup Professorship in Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Song Zhang William and Virginia BingerProfessorship inMechanical Engineering

Patent Awards

  • Patents are a prestigious form of recognition

  • Recognize 11 recipients

Sang Wu Kim Cooperative Spatial Multiplexing

Shihwu Sung Micro-Aeration of Sulfide Removal from Biogas

AtulKelkarPneumatic Vibration Isolation Device

SrikantaTirthapuraComputing Time-decayed Aggregates in Data Streams

ArunSomaniLogic Element Architecture for Generic Logic Chains in Programmable Devices

Jaeyoun Kim Elastomeric Device for Tunable Imaging

Thomas LograssoMagnetostrictive Materials, Devices and Methods Using High Magnetostriction, High Strength FeGa and FeBe Alloys

BalajiNarasimhanAntimicrobial Compositions and Methods

RanaBiswas and Kristen Constant Manufacturing Method of Photonic Crystal

Stuart BirrellCombination Residue Spreader and Collector for Single Pass Harvesting Systems

Faculty and Staff Awards

  • Honoring faculty and staff from the college

  • Recognize 6 recipients

Leslie Potter Superior EngineeringTeaching Award

Konstantina (Nadia) GkritzaEarly Career Engineering Faculty Research Award

Iver E. Anderson David R. BoylanEminent Faculty Research

Melissa Skinner Dean’s Staff Excellence Award

DeAnn Pitman Dean’s Staff Excellence Award

DevnaPopejoy-Sheriff Superior Engineering

Advisor Award

Thank You

  • Login