Strategic plan subcommittee goal 3 review november 13 2013
Download
1 / 16

Strategic Plan Subcommittee Goal 3 Review November 13, 2013 - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 198 Views
  • Uploaded on

Strategic Plan Subcommittee Goal 3 Review November 13, 2013. Subcommittee members: November 13, 2013 Andrea Christopher Susan Graf Craig Houghton. Goal 3.

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about ' Strategic Plan Subcommittee Goal 3 Review November 13, 2013' - melina


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
Strategic plan subcommittee goal 3 review november 13 2013

Strategic Plan SubcommitteeGoal 3 ReviewNovember 13, 2013

Subcommittee members: November 13, 2013

Andrea Christopher

Susan Graf

Craig Houghton


Goal 3
Goal 3

Goal 3: Nurture a campus community that embraces diversity, collegiality and collaboration, and promotes cross-cultural understanding.


Objectives 1 7 see handout for notes on progress made
Objectives 1-7: see handout for notes on progress made

  • Promote a campus climate that welcomes all people including, but not limited to race, ethnicity, religion, gender, national origin, LGBT, disability, socio/economic background, and age (ADM C)

  • Encourage faculty, staff, administrators, and students to form productive partnerships that promote the best interests of the campus (ADM C)

  • Enhance efforts to enroll and retain a diverse population of students ( ADM C, DEM SSC)

  • Provide opportunities and financial support for students to engage issues of diversity and international and multicultural understanding within curricular and co-curricular experiences ( CHA, DAA, DSA)

  • Devise and implement strategies to enhance recruitment and retention of faculty and staff from underrepresented populations (ADM C)

  • Create and support professional development and mentoring programs to build awareness of commonalities and respect for differences (ADM C)

  • Assess the success of the campus’ diversity efforts by measuring their impact on students, faculty, and staff (ADM C, CHA)


Objective 1: Promote a campus climate that welcomes all people including, but not limited to race, ethnicity, religion, gender, national origin, LGBT, disability, socio/economic background, and age (ADM C)

  • We are doing this well, but it is always a work in progress

  • We should continue to promote a welcoming climate for all

  • Highlights include:

    • LGBT efforts

    • Focus on The Penn State Principles

    • Increase in diversity programming

    • The work of the Campus Climate Committee and Faculty Diversity Committee

    • Jump Start


Objective 1 continued
Objective 1 (continued) people including, but not limited to race, ethnicity, religion, gender, national origin, LGBT, disability, socio/economic background, and age (ADM C)

  • The Framework for Diversity

  • Reporting discrimination and harassment

  • IL-US-USI courses

  • Library Resources


Objective 2: Encourage faculty, staff, administrators, and students to form productive partnerships that promote the best interests of the campus (ADM C)

  • We are doing this well

  • We should continue to engage in productive partnerships, changing as student and campus needs change

  • Highlights include:

    • Interfaith Council

    • Campus Climate Committee (CCC)

    • Faculty Diversity Committee and MAFS

    • Early Intervention Team (EIT)

    • Behavioral Threat Management Team (BTMT)


Objective 2 continued
Objective 2 (continued students to form productive partnerships that promote the best interests of the campus (ADM C))

  • Staff Senate

  • Mont Alto Advising Council (MAAC)

  • Ad Hoc Advisory Board for the Academic Support Center

  • Policy & Planning Committee

  • Student representation on decision-making bodies


Objective 3 enhance efforts to enroll and retain a diverse population of students adm c dem ssc
Objective 3: Enhance efforts to enroll and retain a diverse population of students (ADM C, DEM, SSC)

  • We have been successful in enrolling a diverse student body, and should continue these efforts

  • Consider how to attract and retain more international students and more adult students

  • We should continue efforts to increase our one-year retention rate (73.6%) across student populations.

  • Highlights:

    • Approved to admit international students

    • 19-21% underrepresented students (44% in residence halls)

    • Jump Start


Objective 3 continued
Objective 3 (continued) population of students (ADM C, DEM, SSC)

  • Adult Learner enrollment up to 30%

  • Adult Learner Orientation

  • Increased efforts to recruit out-of-state students

  • Increased scholarship opportunities


Objective 4: Provide opportunities and financial support for students to engage issues of diversity and international and multicultural understanding within curricular and co-curricular experiences (CHA, DAA, DSA)

  • We are doing well with the co-curricular experience and should continue these efforts

  • More information is needed on the curricular experience

  • Highlights include:

    • Increase in Diversity Programming

      • Award-winning “Multicultural Challenge”

    • Increase in student organizations with a diversity focus

    • Interfaith Council and increase in educational programs on spiritual issues


Objective 4 continued
Objective 4 (continued) students to engage issues of diversity and international and multicultural understanding within curricular and co-curricular experiences (CHA, DAA, DSA)

  • Study Abroad opportunities

  • 60-74 IL-US-USI courses

  • Library Resources


Objective 5: Devise and implement strategies to enhance recruitment and retention of faculty and staff from underrepresented populations (ADM C)

  • Despite efforts, we struggle with attracting diverse candidates, and should attempt to identify additional strategies

  • Highlights:

    • We have been more successful increasing the diversity of faculty, but not staff (but we have no data)

    • We appoint a Diversity Advocate to every search committee

    • Student Affairs


Objective 6: Create and support professional development and mentoring programs to build awareness of commonalities and respect for differences (ADM C)

  • We should consider additional mentoring programs for students, given the success of Jump Start

  • We are doing well mentoring new faculty and should continue these efforts

  • We should improve mentoring and on-boarding opportunities for staff

  • Highlights:

    • Mentoring programs for new faculty

    • Mont Alto Day of Enrichment (MADE)


Objective 6 continued
Objective 6 (continued) mentoring programs to build awareness of commonalities and respect for differences (ADM C)

  • Increase in training opportunities for faculty and staff

  • Department team-building retreats

  • Jump Start

  • Honors Program


Objective 7: Assess the success of the campus’ diversity efforts by measuring their impact on students, faculty and staff (ADM C, CHA)

  • We could do better at assessing the impact of our efforts

  • Campus-wide survey was not done

  • Highlights:

    • Campus Life Assessment Plan

    • Campus Climate Committee review of Student Satisfaction Survey, Faculty/Staff Satisfaction Survey and Framework for Diversity progress

    • 3 Focus Groups for students (adult, women, underrepresented)

    • 3 Focus Groups for staff (staff assistants, OPP, H&FS)


The end
The End efforts by measuring their impact on students, faculty and staff (ADM C, CHA)


ad