OR…. Legislative Process 101
Download
1 / 23

OR…. Legislative Process 101 - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 102 Views
  • Uploaded on

OR…. Legislative Process 101. Chane Griggs Legislative Liaison/Web Editor 503-986-1385 [email protected] Session Overview. The State of Oregon has a Citizen Legislature consisting of the Senate (30 members are elected to serve four-year terms) and

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about ' OR…. Legislative Process 101' - maya-glass


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

OR…. Legislative Process 101

Chane GriggsLegislative Liaison/Web [email protected]


Session Overview

  • The State of Oregon has a Citizen Legislature consisting of the Senate (30 members are elected to serve four-year terms)

  • and

  • the House of Representatives (60 members elected for two-year terms.)

  • The assembly convenes every two years in regular session on the second Monday in January during odd-numbered years, a date set by statute.




From the homepagewww.leg.state.or.us

Click on “Find your legislator”





  • After the bill's first reading, the Speaker refers it to a committee. The bill is now public.

  • The committee reviews the bill, holds public hearings and work sessions (when the committee votes)

  • Any amendments to the bill are printed and the bill may be reprinted to include the amendments (engrossed bill)


  • The bill, now back in the house of origin (House), has its second reading

  • The measure then has its third reading, which is its final recitation before the vote. This is the time the body debates the measure. To pass, the bill must receive aye votes of a majority of members (31 in the House, 16 in the Senate). The bill may not be amended on the floor.



If the bill is amended in the Senate by even one word, it must be sent back to the House for concurrence. If the House does not concur with the amendments, the presiding officers of each body appoint a conference committee to resolve the differences between the two versions of the bill.



If the Governor chooses to sign the bill, it will become law on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill. In session – 5 days to vetoSine Die – 30 days, but a 5 day notice of possible veto must be givenThe Governor's veto may be overridden by a two-thirds vote of both houses.


  • Effective Date on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill. January 1 after session unless….

  • Emergency clauseeffective on a prescribed date

  • Revenue bills may not have an effective date sooner than 91 days. The constitution ensures the people have 90 days to refer a tax measure to the ballot


Points to Keep in Mind…. on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill.

Advantages of Presession Filing Members/Committees until Dec. 31 (99 session) State Agencies until Dec 15 (99 session)

All bills receive an Fiscal/Revenue impact statementFiscal Impact Statements.. section 15, Article XI of the Oregon Constitution, allows a local government to decline to implement a state-mandated program if the program will have a significant impact on the local government’s budget and both houses of the legislature have not passed the bill by three fifths votes.


Revenue Bills on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill. Section 18,Article IV of the Oregon Constitution requires “bills for raising revenue . . . [to] originate in the House of Representatives.”59 Section 25, Article IV of the Oregon Constitution, requires three-fifths votes for revenue bills to become law.

Revenue Impact Statements determine whether the bill or amendment affects state or local tax revenues…and to what degree.

Importance of committee chairsChairs determine which bills, that are referred to their committee, are heard


Public Hearing / Work Sessions on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill. All committee proceedings are open to the publicThe public may testify in a public hearingThe public may attend a work session, but may not testify

Committee is not required to allow the public to speak; only to allow them to attend.


  • Web Resources on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill.

  • The Citizen’s Guide to the Legislative Process

    • http://www.leg.state.or.us/citizenguide/home.htmwhich has this power point presentation!


  • Citizen’s Guide includes on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill.

  • Contacting Legislators

    • by phone, mail or email

  • Web Site Information

  • How to Testify before Committee

  • Committee Information


Resources in the Capitol on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill.

Legislative Library 986-1668

Committee Services 986-1813

Legislative Liaison 986-1000


Questions on the prescribed effective date. The Governor may allow a bill to become law without his/her signature, or the Governor may decide to veto the bill. During SessionOutside Salem: 1-800-332-2313Salem: 503-986-1187

During Interim

503-986-1000


ad