During a play A2 trips and falls on a rock, cutting his shin.  He bleeds profusely, soaking his sock...
This presentation is the property of its rightful owner.
Sponsored Links
1 / 25

Case PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 99 Views
  • Uploaded on
  • Presentation posted in: General

During a play A2 trips and falls on a rock, cutting his shin. He bleeds profusely, soaking his sock. He gets up and catches a pass and is tagged after a 5 yard gain.

Download Presentation

Case

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript


Case

During a play A2 trips and falls on a rock, cutting his shin. He bleeds profusely, soaking his sock. He gets up and catches a pass and is tagged after a 5 yard gain.

If the ball is live when the injury occurs, the Officials shall not blow their whistles until the play has been completed and the ball is dead.

A player or official who has any part of his uniform or equipment saturated with blood must have it changed or cleansed immediately.

Case


Case

During the game, B3 is found to be wearing a pair of baseball cleats with metal spikes.

Since the shoes are illegal, B3 shall be ejected from the game and the team assessed a penalty for objectionable conduct. It is the responsibility of the teams to know the rules regarding footwear as outlined in the rule book (Rule 2.5.4) and (Reg. 2.5.4)

Case


Case

During a kick off return. A9 runs onto the field to pick up the kicking tee. He does not interfere with the play.

A9 is guilty of illegal substitution. Team B has the option to decline the penalty and scrimmage at the point the ball became dead or have Team A re-kick with a 10 yard penalty. (Rule 3.1)

Case


Case

Team A Captain requests a measurement. The Referee believes beyond all reasonable doubt that a first down has not been made.

The Referee has the right to refuse the request for measurement if the Referee is satisfied beyond all reasonable doubt that a first down has not been made. (Rule 6.7.1)

Case


Case

A forward pass is thrown high, towards the sideline. The ball crosses the boundary line in the air just as A3 jumps high over the sideline and bats the ball out of the air, back to A2 who is standing in bounds.

Even though A3 contacted the ball while it was past the sideline, the play is valid because A3 had not touched the ground out of bounds. A2 can advance the ball, subject to the rules governing offside passes. (Rule 7.2.1)

Case


Case

A1 dives for and catches the ball. B1, who was covering A1 jumps over A1 to avoid contact. A1 gets up and runs.

The play was dead when B1 jumped over A1 to avoid contact. B1 is considered to have touched A1 in this situation. (Rule 9.2)

The key factor in awarding a touch, when one has not occurred is that the defender jumps over or, in some other manner, avoids a collision with the ball carrier and in doing so, gives up the opportunity to make a touch.

Case


Case

A1, the QB, throws a long pass to A4. While the ball is in flight, an official inadvertently blows the whistle. Both A4 and B3, the defender, hesitate when the whistle sounds. The pass is incomplete.

It is difficult to determine which team has been adversely affected by the whistle. Team A might have caught the pass while Team B may have intercepted. In this situation, the down should be repeated.

Case

  • Situations involving inadvertent whistles are often controversial…

  • Officials must maintain their composure and work together and relay their decisions to the captains.

  • Key concepts to remember:

    • the play will stand unless the Referee decided that the whistle affected the play

    • the Referee will decide which team was adversely affected; that team may choose to let the play stand or repeat the down (the entire play)

    • if the Referee cannot decide which team is adversely affected, the down will be repeated


Case

Team B calls a time out and informs the Referee that they want a rule check. Team B has already used its 60 second time out but not its 20 second time out.

The referee should inform Team B Captain that they have used their 60 second time out and a 20 sec. time out cannot be used to check a rule. The Captain cannot withdraw the request and will have to use their 20 sec. time out now. (Rule 11.2.1 &11.3.4)

If they do not have a 20 second time out, they will be penalized for delay of game!

Case


Case

B1 runs and intercepts a forward pass on the B2 yard line. His momentum results in the ball being carried into the B End Zone where he is touched by A4.

Team B is awarded the ball on the B2 yard line. No safety touch. (Rule 12.5.3)

Case


Case

Team A scrimmages 2nd and 10 on the A 10yd line. The QB, A1, attempts a lateral pass to HB A2, but B2 manages to defect the pass on the 1 yd line into the end zone, where A1 catches it before it hits the ground. B7 then touches A1 in the end zone.

Even though the pass was headed to the end zone, the defender caused it to go into the end zone. Thus, a rouge is scored by B and Team A gets the ball at their own 35 yd line. (Rule 12.6.2)

If the defender had been in the end zone when he tipped the ball, a safety touch would be awarded.

Case


Case

On a two point convert attempt, A3 is interfered with in the target area at the Team B 2 yard line.

Ruling: The penalty would be applied at the point of the foul and Team A would have another attempt from the B 2 yard line. (Rule 13.2.2)

Case


Case

A1 kicks off, and the ball travels only 15 yards where it is downed by A2.

Ruling: The ball is dead when downed by A2 (no no-yards). Team B’s option to scrimmage the ball at the point where A2 downed it or have Team A re-kick with a 5 yard penalty (Rule 14.3.1)

Case


Case

A1 kicks off, and the ball travels only 30 yards where it is downed by A2.

Ruling: This is legal. Team B scrimmages, 1st and 10 at the point the ball is downed. (Rule 14.3.1)

Case


Case

B4 attempts to catch a kick off. The ball strikes his foot and rolls forward on the ground.

Ruling: This is considered an offside pass and is dead when the ball hits the ground. If the ball is in the air. It is a free ball until it hits the ground. (Rule: 19.6.2 and 19.6.3)

Case


Case

B7, the Team B rusher lines up 5 yards from the line of scrimmage (LoS) and moves forward early. When the ball is snapped the rusher is only 3 yards away from the LoS. Realizing the situation, the rusher decides not to cross the LoS. B2 was lined up 5 yards from the LoS at the time of the snap and rushes the QB.

Ruling: Team B should not be penalized. This is a legal play. B2 was the first to cross the LoS and is a legal rusher. B7 can cross the LoS to pursue the QB at any time after B2 does.

Case


Case

The center comes over the ball, adjusts it prior to the snap then sets it on the ground. After the center puts his head down, the rusher jumps from one side to the other. Following the snap, the center runs into the rusher accidentally.

Ruling: The rusher should be called for pass interference in the remote zone. By jumping to the other side without the center’s knowledge, the rusher looses the right to an unobstructed path to the QB prior to crossing the LoS. (Rule 15.7.2)

Case


Case

B1 receives a kick-off on the B 25 yard line. B2 runs in front of B1 and takes a hand off at the B 26 yard line.

Ruling: A hand off in a forward direction is illegal on a kick-off. The play must be whistled dead when B2 takes the hand off. (Rule 16.3)

Case


Case

Team A scrimmages 2nd and 10 from the A 6 yard line. While in the end zone, the QB throws an offside pass to the HB who is also in the end zone. The HB remains in the end zone and throws a pass which is a) complete at the A 20; b) incomplete

Ruling: In both cases, a safety touch should be awarded to team B. (Rules 16.3, 24.3.1, and 12.5)

Case


Case

Team A is 1st and goal on the B 10 yard line. A1, the QB throws a forward pass to A2, who is standing 1 yard inside the B End Zone. A2 bobbles the ball, is touched by B2 in the End Zone, then finally gains control of the ball outside the End Zone on the B1 yard line.

Ruling: No touchdown. On a bobble, the ball is dead when the ball carrier is touched. The spot of the ball is at the point of the touch or where the ball is finally caught, whichever is closer to the receiver’s dead line. (Rule 17.6.1 and Regulation 10.2.2)

Case


Case

The pass is thrown and the defense commits interference in the target zone, but the Back Judge calls a sack on the QB.

Ruling: There can be no target area interference if the ball is not in the air or if the ball is dead, as it is in this case. Ignore the flag. (Rules Committee 1988)

Case


Case

Just as receiver A5 is about to catch the ball, B4 yells “drop it!” in an attempt to distract A5.

Ruling: There is no pass interference call in this situation. (Rules’ Committee 1990)

Case


Case

B1 fields a short punt on the B 30 yard line. A2 is caught in the 5 yard restraining zone but tries to withdraw and does not take part in the play

Ruling: “No yards”. However, if, in the official’s judgment, A2 did not affect the play, the 5 yard incidental no yards penalty should be applied.

Comment: Yards must be given on all punt plays. Incompetence and bad luck are not grounds for the incidental call (i.e.) the player misjudges the ball or the ball bounces back into the player. (Rule 19.5.1)

Case


Case

Team A scrimmages on the a)B35; b) B20 yard line. On the play the pass is incomplete, but B1 is called for tripping.

Ruling: B1 is ejected (major foul). a) The 25 yard penalty for this is enforced, but the ball cannot be brought closer than B’s 15 yard line; therefore, Team A will scrimmage 1st and 10 at the B 15 yard line. b) As the ball was inside the 30 yard line: half the distance to the goal. Team A will scrimmage 1st and 10 at the B 10 yard line. (Ruling 22.1.1, 24.4.2)

Case


Case

a) B1 commits target area interference on A2 in the B End Zone on a convert attempt.

b) The reverse situation. A2 commits target area interference on B1 in the B End Zone on a convert attempt.

Ruling: a) The convert is automatically awarded to A. b) No score. The convert attempt is not repeated. (Rule 24.6)

Case


Case

On the last play of the game, A5 is running toward the Team B End Zone. As he gets close to the goal line, the ball is extended with one arm in an effort to break the plane of the goal. a) He is touched by B2 after his body breaks the plane of the end zone. b) He is touched on the B2 yard line.

Ruling: No touchdown in either case. Extention is illegal at any time. If this was not the last play of the game, the 5 yard penalty would be applied from the furthest point of advance of A5’s torso. Team A does not get another play. The game is over. (Rule 21.5.1 and 24.7.1 Regulation 10.13)

Case

last one!


  • Login