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Measuring Return on Investment in International Student Recruitment. Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009. Cheryl Darrup-Boychuck Owner and Chief International Education Officer USjournal.com, LLC [email protected] Brief History of International Student Recruitment.

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measuring return on investment in international student recruitment
Measuring Return on Investment in International Student Recruitment

Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009

Cheryl Darrup-Boychuck

Owner and Chief International Education Officer

USjournal.com, LLC

[email protected]

brief history of international student recruitment
Brief History of International Student Recruitment

Then: No need for metrics

How can you possibly measure the value of international students on campus, with dollar signs?

Now: Show me the numbers

Deans of Admission have morphed into

Vice Presidents of Enrollment Management

Soon: More “stealth applicants”

Increasingly, your first contact with a prospective student is their online application.

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

international enrollment management
“International Enrollment Management”

Nurture Connections with

  • Domestic Admissions
  • Particular Academic Departments
  • Alumni and Development Office
  • Current International Students
  • Senior International Officers

Identify Recruitment Strategy

  • Target particular countries and language markets
  • Incentives for countries not currently represented

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

international enrollment management1
“International Enrollment Management”

Resource Management

  • Manage limited resources
  • Define metrics and collect data
  • Analyze the costs and benefits of specific initiatives
  • Measure Return on Investment

Deliberate and Intentional Approach

  • Integrated effort to maximize impact

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

1 st poll gauging current climate
1st Poll: Gauging Current Climate

At what stage do you consider your campus, with regard to ROI?

  • Advanced (We’ve defined our metrics; we just want to see what peer institutions are doing.)
  • Medium (We measure a few initiatives, but have no coordinated plan to evaluate the results.)
  • Elementary (We’re struggling with where to begin measuring Return on Investment.)

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

external factors shaping international education
External Factors Shaping International Education

Growth Industry

  • By 2025, demand will double to 200 million seats in global higher education
  • Growth in emerging economies
  • Proliferation of alternative structures
  • Higher Education = Globally-traded Commodity
  • Price competition will intensify

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

studying roi corporate world vs higher education

Initial Investment vs Subsequent Profits

Recruiting Expenses vs Profits, where Profits = Tuition

– Cost of Instruction

+ Expected Donations

Flaw: Tuition < Cost of Instruction,

so Profits are usually negative

Studying ROI:Corporate World vs Higher Education

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

studying roi corporate world vs higher education1

Business World

Feedback from market forces

Non-Profit Organizations

Driven by missions, not markets

“Delivering on the Promise of Non-Profits”

Harvard Business Review, December 2008

Studying ROI:Corporate World vs Higher Education

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

reasons for reluctance
Reasons for Reluctance
  • Inertia; it’s never been done
  • Fear of revealing weaknesses
  • Intense focus on immediate results, without regard to the future
  • “International” marketing is de-centralized on many campuses
  • Differences with domestic recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

justify expenses compete with domestic admissions compare results with peer institutions
Justify expenses

Compete with domestic admissions

Compare results with peer institutions

Why Measure ROI?

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

roi in its simplest form
ROI in its Simplest Form

-- Cost of Recruitment

+ Tuition and Fees Generated

-----------------------------------------

Return on Investment

model cost of advertising student s tuition student s fees return on investment
Model

-- Cost of Advertising

+ Student(s) Tuition

+ Student(s) Fees

------------------------------

Return on Investment

Online Promotions: Targeting Specific Populations

ESL Program

-- $ 1,195 / year

+ $ 2,850 / 10-wk session

+ $ 465 Student Fees

----------------------------------

$ 2,120 = 1st student

$ 15,380 = 5 students

$ 31,955 = 10 students

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

slide14
MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = Total marketing expense in

time period “t”

St = Total students enrolled in

time period “t”

Marketing Cost per Student

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

mcps e mt s t e mt 1 195 for an annual campaign s t 10 students enrolled mcps 119 50 per student
MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $1,195 for an annual campaign

St = 10 students enrolled

MCPS = $119.50 per student

Marketing Cost per Student:Online Promotion

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

initiative mcps online promotion 119 50
Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion $119.50

Marketing Cost per Student

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

engaging agents initial costs must be greater than zero

-- Cost of Developing a Relationship

-- Commissions Paid + Student(s) Tuition

+ Student(s) Fees

-------------------------------------------------------- Return on Investment

Skipping the relationship part

may result in very negative consequences.

Engaging Agents: Initial costs must be greater than zero

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

mcps e mt s t e mt 13 800 over four years s t 4 students enrolled mcps 3 450 per student 4 years
MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $13,800 over four years

St = 4 students enrolled

MCPS = $3,450 per student / 4 years

Marketing Cost per Student:Engaging Agents

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

initiative mcps online promotion 119 50 agent 862 50
Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion $ 119.50

Agent $ 862.50

Marketing Cost per Student

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

mcps e mt s t e mt 1 200 in one year s t 20 students enrolled mcps 60 per student
MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $1,200 in one year

St = 20 students enrolled

MCPS = $60 per student

Marketing Cost per Student:Domestic Travel

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

initiative mcps online promotion 119 50 agent 862 50 domestic travel 60 00
Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion $ 119.50

Agent $ 862.50

Domestic Travel $ 60.00

Marketing Cost per Student

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

slide24

Marketing Cost per Student

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

slide25

Marketing Cost per Studentand Revenue per Student

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

cost to recruit one international student vs one domestic student
Cost to Recruit one International Student vs one Domestic Student

MCPSi = Emt / St

MCPSd = Emt / St

Emt = Total marketing expense in

time period “t”

St = Total students enrolled in

time period “t”

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

measuring roi by student type
Measuring ROI by Student Type

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

2008 nacac admission trends survey

Average cost per enrolled student,

based on domestic recruitment

$2,895 = Private institutions

$2,366 = Overall average

$1,002 = Public institutions

2008 NACAC Admission Trends Survey
cost applicant 578 admitted 836 enrolled 2 366
Cost

Applicant $ 578.

Admitted $ 836.

Enrolled $2,366.

Domestic Admissions Yield

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

stealth applicants
“Stealth” Applicants
  • Students applying without prior contact
  • Introduced into database as “applicant”
  • Traditional enrollment funnel dissolving
  • Accept lack of complete control of your institutional message
online inquiries and the impact on roi
Online Inquiriesand the Impact on ROI

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

targeted online campaigns
Targeted Online Campaigns

By Geography

Within a 20-mile radius of any metro area

By Key Words and Key Phrases

In targeted languages

By Device Manufacturers and Capabilities

Only target iPhones, for example

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

slide39

Sample of Key Phrases for Google Pay-per-Click

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

slide41

Sample of Statistics:Google Pay-per-Click

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

slide42
CPL = TAC / TLG

$3.25 = $101 / 31 leads

CPL = Cost per Lead

TAC = Total Advertising Cost

TLG = Total Leads Generated

Cost per Lead

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

2 nd poll precision marketing techniques
2nd Poll: Precision Marketing Techniques

What types of campaigns are you using to generate initial inquiries?

  • Pay-per-Click Campaigns (primarily hosted by major search engines)
  • Mobile Marketing (via handheld devices)
  • Directory-type Ads (StudyUSA, Hobsons, USjournal.com, others)
  • We don’t pay for leads (Students just find us organically online, or by word-of-mouth.)

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

precision marketing factors
Precision Marketing Factors
  • Internal Analysis
    • Domestic Admissions’ ROI Equations
    • Academic Strengths
    • Availability of Scholarships for Diversity
  • Economic Realities
  • Online Language Populations

Next Step:

  • Study the habits of target demographic

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

know thyself
Know Thyself

S.W.O.T. Analysis

  • Strengths
  • Weaknesses
  • Opportunities
  • Threats

Clearly Define Objectives

  • By citizenship or by geography
  • By language market
  • By academic program

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

economic realities
Economic Realities

Government-Sponsored Scholarships

  • Iraq (500 students this year, eventually 10,000)
    • http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/22/world/middleeast/22kurds.html
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Malaysia
    • Public Service Department
    • http://www.jpa.gov.my/

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

mobile marketing
Mobile Marketing
  • 4.1 billion mobile subscriptions worldwide
    • Up from one billion in 2002
  • Europe
    • Subscriptions exceed population by 11%
  • Developed World
    • Shared devices
  • More than 90% of the global population now has access to mobile phone technology
  • How does your .edu domain look on the small screen?

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

case study
Case Study

Mobile Marketing in Indonesia

  • Landing Page: USAcademics.com
  • Campaign ran from 26 Feb to 7 Mar 2009 (10 days)
  • Apple, Blackberry, Nokia, Palm Devices
  • 4,244,567 impressions
  • 10,152 clicks (0.24% click-through rate)
  • 4 cents per click = $406.08
  • 148 actual inquiries
  • $406.08 / 148 = $2.74 per lead

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

in the rush to measure
In the rush to measure…

… any figures will do.

Cost of annual campaign = $6,696.

Number of inquiries = 933

So, $6,696 / 933 = $7.18 per inquiry ?

Not accurate.

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

various cpl models
Various CPL Models

One company (based in India) charges $20 / qualified lead

How do you define “qualified”?

Pre-paid postage example

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

outbound vs inbound marketing
Outbound vs InboundMarketing

Inbound

  • Social Media
  • Blogging
  • Search Engine Placements

Outbound

  • Cold Calling
  • Unsolicited eMail
  • Junk Mail
  • T.V. Advertising

Inbound Marketers =

61% lower cost-per-lead (CPL)

smart power
Smart Power

Hard Power

+ Soft Power

  • Use data as political currency
  • Simplify the argument
  • Create catchy visual representations

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

retention rate churn rate new student gains student losses
Retention Rate

Churn Rate

New Student Gains

Student Losses

Quantifiable DataRelated to Return on Investment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

g m s i s l g m market growth s i student increase this year s l student increase last year
Gm = SI / SL

Gm = % market Growth

SI = Student increase this year

SL = Student increase last year

Market Growth

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

slide63
Rmi = Ri / ΣRt

Rmi = Revenue contribution for “i”

Ri = Revenue from segment “i”

ΣRt = Revenue from all segments

Revenue Contribution

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

broader roi metrics based on audience considerations
Broader ROI Metrics, based on audience considerations

Australia’s Access Economics

International Student Contributions

  • $1 spent = $1.91 into economy
  • 120,000 jobs in 2007-08
  • $13.7 billion in 2007-08

Learning Boom Amid Economic Gloom

The Australian, 1 April 2009

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

comparative exercises
Comparative Exercises

Applicants from Campaign A

versus

Applicants from Campaign B

Appropriate for Extenuating Circumstances

  • Student Visa Variables
  • Severe Currency Fluctuations

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

quantifiably elusive factors in our simplistic roi equations

The Prestige Factor / Name Recognition

Word-of-Mouth Referrals

Diversity Factors

Follow-up Mechanisms

Staff Time

Foreign-born Faculty Members (+,--)

Cost of educating that student

Murketing, rather than Marketing

Quantifiably Elusive Factors in our simplistic ROI Equations

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

complexity theory
Complexity Theory
  • Large numbers of interacting elements
  • Minor changes can produce disproportionately major consequences
  • The whole is greater than the sum of its parts; solutions cannot be imposed
  • Evolution is irreversible
  • Hindsight does not lead to foresight

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

multivariate likelihood function to predict customer behavior
Multivariate Likelihood Function to Predict Customer Behavior

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

defining the investments that are designed to yield students

Travel (Domestic and Overseas)

Agents / Commission-based Options

Online / Print Promotions

Purchasing Mailing Lists (≈30¢ / name)

Financial Aid / Scholarships

Staff Focus on Current Students / Alum

Special Scenarios / Emerging Markets

Long-term Prospects

Defining the Investmentsthat are designed to yield students

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

next steps
Next Steps
  • Collaborate with Domestic Admissions
    • Define consistent parameters
  • Recognize the complexity of international student recruitment, along with its quantifiably elusive factors
  • Compare initial investment with revenue generated from that initiative
  • MCPS = Emt / St
  • CPL = TAC / TLG

Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009

better roi metrics
Better ROI Metrics

Decide which metrics are appropriate, and include specific parameters for each

Establish long-term policies for tracking and reporting

Always be prepared to present your data, but insist on annual meetings with those who hold the purse strings

measuring return on investment in international student recruitment1
Measuring Return on Investment in International Student Recruitment

Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009

Cheryl Darrup-Boychuck

Chief International Education Officer

USjournal.com, LLC

[email protected]

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