Child Abuse and Neglect - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

Child abuse and neglect
1 / 41

  • Uploaded on
  • Presentation posted in: General

Child Abuse and Neglect. Prepared By: Sonia Rosas & Kimberly Martinez Crystal City Service Area EIPC’s Presenter: Velma McNeil. Objectives:. Know P/P for child abuse & neglect reporting Identify indicators of possible abuse Understand the laws for reporting suspected abuse or neglect.

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.

Download Presentation

Child Abuse and Neglect

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript

Child abuse and neglect

Child Abuse and Neglect

Prepared By:

Sonia Rosas


Kimberly Martinez

Crystal City Service Area EIPC’s

Presenter: Velma McNeil



  • Know P/P for child abuse & neglect reporting

  • Identify indicators of possible abuse

  • Understand the laws for reporting suspected abuse or neglect.

Why you are receiving training on child abuse neglect

Why you are receiving training on Child Abuse & Neglect ?

  • HSPS 1304.52(k)(3)(i)

  • Methods for identifying and reporting child abuse and neglect that comply with applicable State and local laws using, so far as possible, a helpful rather than a punitive toward abusing or neglecting parents and other caretakers; and

Tmc s policy

TMC’s Policy…

  • FS-100

    • TMC will provide training to all employees on laws for reporting, identifying, and preventing child abuse and neglect in accordance with Section 511 of the Head Start Act and the Texas Family Code, and all other state laws ( Texas Family Code 261.109 Failure to report is a Class B Misdemeanor and punishable by 180 days in jail/$2K fine)

Tmc s policy cont

TMC’s Policy, cont.

  • Federal regulations, state law, and the Board of Directors require the involvement of TMC staff to report any and all instances of abuse/neglect.

Tmc procedure

TMC Procedure…

  • Child Abuse Reporting : FS-100-A

    • All employees will participate in identification, reporting, and prevention of abuse and neglect.

    • Maintain confidentiality, no records will be kept in Family File (Placed in separate file).

    • Work Closely with CPS.

    • CM will coordinate all abuse and negelct activities.

Cm responsibility

CM Responsibility…

  • Establish and maintain relationship with community agencies, involved with abuse & Neglect.

  • Inform staff of P/P

  • Inform parents and staff of legal requirements.

  • Discuss with families reporting, if deemed necessary.

  • Know medical and social community resources available.

Staff responsibility

Staff Responsibility…


Reporting form

Reporting Form…

  • Gen 018

    • Record report to CPS

    • Person making the report will complete the form when abuse or neglect is suspected

    • Fill in appropriate information

    • Forward Administration/MSHS Director in a Folder marked CONFIDENTIAL.

Child abuse and neglect



The following information must be reported to Child Protective Services immediately upon suspecting child abuse and/or neglect:

Center_________________________ Center Manager______________________________

Address_____________________________________ Telephone _____________________

Child’s Name _______________________________ DOB ____________ Sex: □ M

Child’s Address__________________________________Phone_____________________

Parent/Guardian Name_______________________________________________________

Parent Address if different from Child’s__________________________________________

Telephone where parent can be reached_________________________________________

Did the child report the abuse?□ Yes □ No




Type of abuse suspected:______________________________________________________


Physical Indicators Observed:__________________________________________________


Behavioral Indicators observed:________________________________________________


Other Indicators Observed/Known:______________________________________________


Person(s) Reporting:__________________________________________________________ Position:________________________

Date of Report ________________ Time of report___________ Was Center Manager Informed?□ Yes □ No

Gen 018 Rev 5/04

What is child abuse

What is child abuse ?

  • Mental, emotional, physical, or sexual injury to a child.

  • CAPTA’s Definition:

    • Any recent act or failure to act on the part of a parent or caretaker which results in death, serious physical or emotional harm, sexual abuse or exploitation; or

    • An act or failure to act which presents an imminent risk of serious harm.

Types of abuse

Types of Abuse:

  • Physical Abuse

  • Neglect

  • Sexual Abuse

  • Emotional Maltreatment

Physical abuse

Physical Abuse :

  • Physical Marks:

    • Unexplained burns, bites, bruises, broken bones, black eyes.

    • Fading bruises or other noticeable marks.

    • Welts on the body.

    • Bruising to the facial area.

Physical abuse1

Physical Abuse:

  • Behavioral Indicators:

    • Anti-Social Behavior

    • Problems in School

    • Fear of Adults



  • Failure to provide for a child’s basic needs, ex.

    • Physical (Shelter, unsuitable clothing, food, lack of supervision)

    • Medical (Necessary medical care)

    • Educational (Failure to educate the child or special education)

    • Emotional (Inattention to child’s emotional needs, drink alcohol or drug use)

Sexual abuse

Sexual Abuse:

  • Physical Signs:

    • Difficulty walking or sitting

    • Pregnant

    • Venereal Diseases

    • Changes in appetite

    • Reports sexual abuse by a parent or caregiver.

Sexual abuse1

Sexual Abuse:

  • Emotional Indicators:

    • Nightmares or bedwetting

    • Changes in appetite

    • Unusual sexual behaviors or knowledge

Emotional maltreatment

Emotional Maltreatment:

  • Physical Signs:

    • Constant criticism

    • Threats

    • Rejection

    • Withholding love, support, guidance

      (Usually present with another form of abuse)

Emotional maltreatment1

Emotional Maltreatment:

  • Emotional Indicators:

    • Apathy

    • Depression

    • Hostility or stress

    • Lack of concentration

    • Eating disorders

General signs of abuse or neglect

General Signs of Abuse or Neglect…

  • The Child:

    • Changes in behavior or school performance

    • No medical attention for issues discussed with parent

    • Watchful

    • Lacks adult supervision

    • Overly compliant, passive, withdrawn

    • Comes to school early, leaves late, doesn’t want to go home.

General signs of abuse or neglect1

General Signs of Abuse or Neglect

  • Parents:

    • Shows little concern for child

    • Denies problems with the child

    • Harsh punishment

    • Sees child as bad

    • Overly demanding of the child

    • Looks to child for care, attention, and satisfaction of emotional needs

General signs of abuse and neglect

General Signs of Abuse and Neglect

  • Child and Parent:

    • Rarely look or touch each other

    • Consider relationship negatively

    • Don’t like each other

Texas statistical data

Texas Statistical Data :

  • 2003

    • 184 Children died from abuse or neglect.

    • CPS received 186,160 reports, 131,130 were investigated, 50,208 were confirmed victims.

Confirmed cases of abuse or neglect texas

Confirmed Cases of Abuse or Neglect: Texas

  • Physical 13,606

  • Sexual 7,473

  • Emotional 1,067

  • Abandonment 420

  • Medical Neglect 2,371

  • Physical Neglect 7,198

  • Neglectful Supervision 26,338

  • Refuse parental responsibility 845

Moments in america for children

Moments in America for Children


  • 2 sec. A public school student is suspended

  • 10 seconds A high school student drops out

  • 11 sec A child is reported abused or neglected

  • 19 sec A child is arrested

  • 23 sec A baby is born to unwed mother

  • 35 sec A child is confirmed abused or neglected

  • 40 sec A baby is born into poverty

  • 50 sec A baby is born without health insurance

  • 1 min A baby is born to teen mom

Moment in america for children

Moment in America for Children

  • 2 min Baby is born low birth weight

  • 3 min Baby born to mom with no/late pre-natal care

  • 8 min Child is arrested for violent crime

  • 19 min A baby dies

  • 2 Hours A child is a homicide victim

  • 4 Hours A child commits suicide

  • 6 Hours A child dies from abuse or neglect

Child abuse and neglect

Are we mandated to report suspected child abuse or neglect ?

What are the laws that govern ?

Laws regulations on child abuse neglect

Laws & Regulations on Child Abuse & Neglect:

  • Texas Family Code

  • Texas Administrative Code

  • Texas Minimum Standards

  • HSPS

Texas family code 261 101

Texas Family Code : 261.101

  • Persons required to report: A person having cause to believe that a child’s physical or mental health or welfare has been adversely affected by abuse or neglect by any person shall immediately make a report. Identity of the reporter is confidential.

Texas family code 261 103

Texas Family Code : 261.103

  • A report shall be made to law enforcement or Child Protective Service. ( Appropriate Agency )

Texas family code 261 109

Texas Family Code 261.109

  • A person commits an offense if the person has cause to believe that a child’s physical or mental health or welfare has been or may be adversely affected by abuse or neglect and knowingly fails to report. Offense is a Class B misdemeanor (180 days in jail/$2K fine).

Texas minimum daycare standards

Texas Minimum Daycare Standards:

  • Minimum Standards follow the regulations outlined by the Texas Administrative Code and Texas Family Code.

Head start performance standards

Head Start Performance Standards:

  • Appendix A to 1301.31 Identification and Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect.

    • Head Start Agencies and delegate agencies MUST report child abuse and neglect in accordance with the provisions of applicable State or local law.

    • Head Start Agencies and Delegates will maintain the confidentialityof all records pertaining to child abuse and neglect in accordance with the law.

    • Head Start will cooperate fully with CPS.

Child abuse and neglect

How do I make a report and what information do I need to know ?

Making a report

Making a Report…

  • Two Ways:

    • Telephone : 1-800-252-5400

    • Internet :

      (must include the “s” in https:// to access the website)

Information on hand

Information on Hand:

  • Name, age, and address of the child

  • Your name and contact information

  • Brief description of the situation

  • Current injuries, medical problems, or behavioral problems

  • Parent’s name and name of siblings in the home

  • Explain how you know the situation



Your report is confidential and is not subject to public release under the Open Records Act.

Timeframe for making a report

Timeframe for Making A Report :

You must make a report to Child Protective Services within 48 Hours (2 Days) of the suspected abuse or neglect.

Rule of thumb

Rule of Thumb:

If you have reason to suspect child abuse, but are not positive, make the report…

Any questions

Any Questions



  • National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information – NAIC National Adoption Information Clearinghouse

  • Texas Department of Family and Protective Services

  • Childhelp USA

  • Administration for Children and Families

  • HSPS

  • Minimum Daycare Standards

  • US Department of Health and Human Services : Safe Children and Healthy Families Are A Shared Responsibility-2006 Community Resource Packet

  • Login