Chapter 3 Homework Solutions. Problems: 1, 2, 6, 16, 17. Problem 1. See-Clear Optics is considering producing a new line of eyewear. After considering the cost of raw materials and the cost of new equipment, the company estimated fixed cost at $40,000 and variable cost at $45 per unit.
Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.
Problems: 1, 2, 6, 16, 17
See-Clear Optics is considering producing a new line of eyewear. After considering the cost of raw materials and the cost of new equipment, the company estimated fixed cost at $40,000 and variable cost at $45 per unit.
1a. If the selling price of each new product is set at $100, how many units must the company sell to break even? Illustrate your solution graphically.
QBE = 728
Med First is a medical facility that offers outpatient medical services. The facility is considering offering an additional service, mammography screening tests, on site. The facility estimate the annual fixed cost to be $120,000. Variable cost for each patient processed are estimated at $35 per patient. If the clinic plans to charge $55 for each screening, how many patients must it process a year to break even?
Harrison Hotels is considering adding a spa to its current facility in order to improve its list of amenities. Operating the spa would require a fixed cost of $25,000 a year. Variable cost is estimated at $35 per person. The hotel wants to break even if 12,000 customers use the spa facility. What should be the price of the spa services?
Oakwood Outpatient Clinic is analyzing its operation in an effort to improve performance. The clinic estimates that a patient spend on average 3.5 hours at the facility. The amount of time the patient is in contact with staff (i.e., physicians, nurses, office staff, lab technicians) is estimated at 40 minutes. On average, the facility see 42 patients per day. Their standard has been 40 patients per day. Determine the clinic’s process velocity and efficiency.
or no wasted time.
If PV > 1.0, throughput time > value added time,
there is wasted time.
If PV < 1.0, throughput time < value added time,
some value added steps omitted.