Basics of Yoga - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

Basics of yoga l.jpg
1 / 9

Basics of Yoga The universe has both material and spiritual components. The human being has both material and spiritual components. Components of the Universe: Components of the human being

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.

Download Presentation

Basics of Yoga

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript

Basics of yoga l.jpg

Basics of Yoga

The universe has both material and spiritual components.

The human being has both material and spiritual components.

Components of the universe components of the human being l.jpg

Components of the Universe:Components of the human being

  • Purusha: Pure consciousness. Immortal, spiritual, always free. Infinite existence, knowledge, & happiness. The true self.

  • Prakriti: The unconscious world. Mortal, material, determined. The material self of body and mind.

The goal of yoga l.jpg

The Goal of Yoga

  • To eliminate suffering by helping us attain discriminative knowledge of the Purusha and the Prakriti. This realization brings contentment, peace, and happiness.

Kirya yoga yoga of action l.jpg

Kirya Yoga: Yoga of Action

  • Austerity, introspection, & ego surrender

  • Preparing for trance by ridding oneself of afflictions

  • Ignorance (mistaking the noneternal for the eternal)

  • Egoism: identifying the seen with the power of seeing

  • Attachment: intense seeking after pleasure

  • Repulsion: intense aversion from pain

  • Fear of death: intense clinging to life

Ashtanga yoga l.jpg

Ashtanga Yoga

  • Yama (5 restraints)

  • Niyama (5 disciplines)

  • Asana (physical postures)

  • Pranayama (regulation of breathing)

  • Pratyahara (sense organ withdrawal)

  • Dharana (concentration)

  • Dhyana (contemplation)

  • Samadhi (absorption)

Slide6 l.jpg


  • Do not engage in violence

  • Do not lie

  • Do not steal

  • Do not crave sexual pleasure

  • Do not be possessive

Niyama l.jpg


  • Purity: cleanse one’s body & mind of all pollutants

  • Contentment: mental & spiritual balance

  • Austerity

  • Study of scriptures and lives of saints

  • Devotion to the Higher Self

Other external steps preparatory stage l.jpg

Other External Steps: Preparatory Stage

  • Asana (Physical Postures)

  • Pranayama (regulation of breathing)

  • Pratyahara: training the mind to withdraw consciousness from external objects, and to direct it instead to the inner contents of the mind

Internal steps meditative stage samyama one pointedness l.jpg

Internal Steps: Meditative Stage (Samyama: one-pointedness)

  • Dharana (concentration): fixing the mind on one idea, letting other images glide by, paying no attention to them

  • Dhyana (contemplation): sustained focus on an idea, getting to know it in its entirety. The mind remains aware of itself as a subject meditating on an object.

  • Samadhi (absorption): mystical union with the Purusha

  • Login