Driver education
Download
1 / 24

Driver Education - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 164 Views
  • Uploaded on

Driver Education. Chapter 1 (pg 6-26) New Jersey Driver License System. Laws Governing Driver Licenses. A motorist who operates a vehicle in the state of New Jersey must carry: A valid driver license OR A valid provisional license OR A validated New Jersey permit

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about ' Driver Education' - april-steele


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
Driver education

Driver Education

Chapter 1 (pg 6-26)

New Jersey Driver

License System


Laws governing driver licenses
Laws Governing Driver Licenses

  • A motorist who operates a vehicle in the state of New Jersey must carry:

  • A valid driver license OR

  • A valid provisional license OR

  • A validated New Jersey permit

  • The motorist must also carry:

  • Valid auto insurance AND

  • Vehicle registration cards


More laws
More Laws

  • A motorist who changes addresses must report this change to the MVC within 1 week after moving.

  • A motorist who legally changes his or her name must report the change within 2 or 3 weeks.

  • A motorist with a valid out-of-state license who moves to NJ must apply for a NJ license within 60 days, or before the current license expires, whichever comes first. (CDL-30 days)


Laws continued
Laws Continued

  • Individuals who have never had a driver license must complete the Graduated Driver License (GDL) program before getting a basic driver license.

  • All applicants for a NJ driver license who are under 18 yrs of age must present a consent form signed by a parent or guardian.

  • GDL, special learner and examination permits are valid until all qualifications for a provisional license are met, or for 2 years, whichever comes first. All others are valid for 90 days.


Digital driver license
Digital Driver License

  • DDL issued in 2004

  • along with the 6 pts. of identification, helps to eliminate fraud and abuse.

  • Includes nearly 2 dozen security features, including photos/signature

  • Motorists under the age of 21 are issued a distinctive vertical format

  • Most DDLs issued are valid for 4 yrs.


Samples
Samples

Each is for a different type of license.

Which is which?



Types of

New Jersey

Licenses

Keep in mind: Testing for commerical, motorcycle, and moped licenses will require the use of topic-specific manuals in addition to using the driver manual.


More

Types of

Licenses


6 point id verification
6 Point ID verification

Prove your age, identity, & legal presence

You are REQUIRED to show:

  • At least one primary document

  • At least one secondary document

  • At least six points of ID

  • Proof of Address

  • Social Security Number

    Try it out! http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/

Important: If your current legal name is different than the name on your civil birth certificate….


Chapter 1 continued the gdl
Chapter 1 Continued: The GDL

  • GDL= Graduated Driver License Program

  • The system gradually introduces driving privileges to first-time drivers, extends their practice driving time, and requires a minimum age of 18 in order to receive an unrestricted, basic driver license.

  • Failure to adhere to GDL restrictions can result in a fine of $100 or a possible suspension of a motorist’s driving privilege.


Graduated driver license gdl
Graduated Driver License- GDL

  • STEP 1: Get a special learner permit

    - Must be at least 16*

  • Must have parent/guardian consent

  • Must be enrolled in approved behind-the-wheel driver training course through the NJ DOE or commercial driving school*

  • An approved instructor must purchase the permit

  • Must pass MVC’s knowledge and written tests*

  • Must pay required fee; finish course 1st, validate


And then
And then…

  • STEP 2- Practice with an adult supervising driver- at least 6 months

    - Must observe learner permit restrict.

  • STEP 3- Get a provisional license

  • Must have completed at least 6 mos. driving BTW w/o any suspensions/postponements

  • Must pass MVC’s road test

  • Must be at least 17 years old


Finally
Finally…

  • STEP 4- With a provisional license,

    - Must practice unsupervised driving 1 yr and observe the PDL restrictions

  • STEP 5- Get the Basic Driver License

  • Must be at least 18 years old

  • Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving with provisional driver license restrictions

  • Must pay required fee

  • Early Bird Road vs. Young Adult vs. Adult


Young adult adult roads

Young Adult- Must be at least 17 yrs.

Examination Permit @ 17, practice 6 mo.

Provisional @ 17.5,

Basic Driver License at 18.5

Differences:

No Behind the Wheel

Not called a special learner permit.

Adult- Must be at least 21yrs old.

- Examination Permit @ 21,

- practice supervised driving for 3 mos.

get Provisional @ 21.25 yrs

-Basic Driver License at 22.25 yrs old.

Differences: Again,

The age @ each step

Young Adult & Adult Roads


Special learner permit restrictions
Special Learner Permit Restrictions

  • • No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.

  • • No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices.

  • • Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years’drivingexperience.

  • • Passengers are limited to any parent, guardian or dependant of the special permit holder and one additional passenger.

  • • Permit holder and all passengers must wear seat belts.

  • • Must display decals on license plates.


Examination permit restrictions
Examination Permit Restrictions

  • • No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.

  • • No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices.

  • • Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years driving experience.


Examination permit restrictions1
Examination Permit Restrictions

  • • Passengers are limited to dependants of the permit holder and one additional person, unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • • Permit holder and all passengers must wear seat belts.

  • • Must display decals on license plates.


Provisional license restrictions
Provisional License Restrictions

  • • No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.1

  • • No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices.

  • • Passengers are limited to dependants of the probationary license holder

  • and one additional person, unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.

  • • Probationary license holder and all passengers must wear seat belts.

  • • Must display decals on license plates.


Gdl driver exemptions
GDL Driver Exemptions

  • Exceptions to the hours rule for permit and provisional drivers under 21

  • Proof of a need to drive during the prohibited hours for employment and/or religion.

    2 special notes:

  • If a student driver commits a traffic offense, the responsibility will be with both the student driver AND the instructor or supervising adult.

  • All motorists who possess a provisional driver license, whose provisional licensing period is not extended past the 12 months by the MVC, must visit the MVC agency to upgrade to a basic at the end of the 12 mos..


Special learners permits for nj
Special Learners Permits for NJ

Review Time

  • Any NJ resident who is at least _16__ and not in suspension status can obtain a Special Learner Permit at any MVC agency

  • Signed consent of __parent_

  • Registered in Behind-the-Wheel driver training course

  • Must pass _Knowledge_ Test_ and vision screening

  • An approved course is _6 hours_ long

  • The instructor must purchase the permit, which is valid for _2_ years.


Examination permits for nj res
Examination Permits for NJ res.

  • The examination permit is different than a student learner permit because the applicant does not have to be a _student & an instructor is not necessary.

  • For both types of permits, _6_ points of ID verification are necessary and proof that the applicant lives in the US.

  • For a provisional license, the applicant must also supply their _social security_ number.


Commercial driver license cdl
Commercial Driver License- CDL

  • There are 3 classes of a commercial license: A, B, and C. However, no one can apply for these licenses until he/she is in possession of Class D license, the basic driver license, or possesses an out-of-state CDL.

  • Recall:

    -Class E:

    -Class F:

    -Class G:

    -Boat License

E


More about the cdl last slide
More About the CDL- last slide!

Class AClass BClass C

Tractor trailer Big Trucks School Bus

Tows most lbs Heavy Buses School Van

Op. B,C, & D Can op. C, D Can. Op. D

-Commercial driver license code H means can legally transport hazardous material

  • P is for passengers, S is for school bus

  • # restrictions, ex. lenses, are on CDLs.


ad