Baseball quiz 2
Download
1 / 20

Baseball Quiz 2 - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 357 Views
  • Updated On :

Baseball Quiz #2. Test your knowledge. A) place R2 at 2 nd B) placeR2 at 3 rd C) award R2 two bases. Answer B) place R2 at 3 rd , see MLB rule 7.04d one base on catchers interference.

loader
I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.
capcha
Download Presentation

PowerPoint Slideshow about 'Baseball Quiz 2' - MikeCarlo


An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript
Baseball quiz 2

Baseball Quiz #2

Test your knowledge


A) place R2 at 2nd

B) placeR2 at 3rd

C) award R2 two bases

Answer

B) place R2 at 3rd, see MLBrule 7.04d one base on catchers interference

One out, runner on 2nd. R2 is stealing 3rd when the catcher interferes with the batter, who flies out to center. The runner returns to 2nd as the ball is caught. You invoke catcher’s interference and place the batter at 1st. What do you do with R2?


Who is responsible for notifying the umpire of a substitution

A) the incoming player

B) the player being removed

C) the manager or his substitute if the manager is ejected

Answer

C) the manager or his substitute if the manager is ejected, MLBrule 3.06 and 3.08.

Note: during league play, all substitution will be made at the TOP of the 3rd inning. Starter can re-enter the game no earlier than the top of the 5th unless an injury occurs to a player. During USWSSA play, substitutions can be made during a time out, starters may re-enter the game.

Who is responsible for notifying the umpire of a substitution?


Can a pitcher balk with no runners on base
Can a pitcher balk with no runners on base?

  • Answer

  • NO

  • See MLB rule 2.00(BALK) the definition of a “balk” from rule 2.00 specifically states that there is “a runner or runners on base” when the illegal act occurs.


A batted ball goes sharply and directly from the bat, off the catcher’s mitt, then hits the catcher in his mask and ricochets 20 feet above home plate, and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground. Is this a foul-tip?

  • Answer

  • Yes

  • See MLB rule 2.00 definition (foul tip) note the ball hit the catcher’s mitt first. A foul tip is ALWAYS caught, one that hits the ground is a FOUL BALL, a foul tip is still a live ball, a FOUL BALL is one that lands on the ground not caught and becomes dead.


A) the batter is out and R3 scores the catcher’s mitt, then hits the catcher in his mask and ricochets 20 feet above home plate, and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground. Is this a foul-tip?

B) the batter is not out and R3 returns to third

C) the batter is out and R3 is returned to third

Answer

C) the batter is out and R3 is returned to third, see MLB rule 6.05(f) and 6.08(b)approved ruling

Runner on 3rd, the batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter. The runner on third crosses home plate when the ball bounces away from the catcher. What do you do?


A) the batter is not our and R3 is returned to third the catcher’s mitt, then hits the catcher in his mask and ricochets 20 feet above home plate, and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground. Is this a foul-tip?

B) the batter is out and R3 is out

C) the batter is not out and the run scored by R3 counts

Answer

A) the batter is not out and R3 is returned to third

See MLB rule 5.09(e) and (g)

Runner on 3rd, the batter fouls a pitch which strikes the umpire on the chest protector and rebound into the air where it is caught by the pitcher before the ball touches the ground. R3 crosses home base and the pitcher throws to 3rd who tags third-base before R3 can return. What do you do?


A) the appeal is not allowed, both runs count the catcher’s mitt, then hits the catcher in his mask and ricochets 20 feet above home plate, and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground. Is this a foul-tip?

B) R1 is rules out, the following run counts

C) R1 is rules out and the BR is sent back to third

Answer

B) R1 is ruled out, the following run counts

See MLB rule 7.08(k) and 7.10(b) approved ruling

In this case, the ball was still alive and in play, and was made before the next pitch or play

One out, runner on first. Batter hits an inside-the-park homerun. R1 misses home plate. Following a sliding tag play at home on which the BR is ruled safe, R1 returns and touches the plate. The catcher properly appeals to you that R1 missed the plate. What is the call?


The batter triples but misses second base. The defense properly appeals that he missed first base, but the umpire rules him safe. Can the defense now properly appeal that he missed 2nd base?

  • Answer

  • Yes

  • See MLB rule 7.10(d) the second appeal is allowed since it will be the first time an appeal is made on that runner at second base, but you can not make successive appeals at the same base.


A) R2 is awarded 3 properly appeals that he missed first base, but the umpire rules him safe. Can the defense now properly appeal that he missed 2rd base but may still be called out on appeal if the defense does it properly

B) the ball is not immediately made dead as a result of the “balk”. The umpires are waiting to see if the defense will complete the appeal.

C) R2 is awarded third base and the defense has lost their rights to appeal on the missed first base

Answer

C) R2 is awarded third base and the defense has lost their rights to appeal on the missed first base

See MLB rule 7.10(d)

The batter doubles but misses first base. “Time” is called. After the ball is put back into play, the pitcher balks when he attempts to make an appeal at 1st base. What is the call?


Batter double but misses first base. “Time” is called. After the ball is put in play, the pitcher steps back off the rubber preparing to throw to first to make the appeal, R2 takes off for third on a steal. Instead of throwing to first, the pitcher throws to third attempting to retire R2, but R2 beats the throw. Can the defense now properly appeal at first base?

  • Answer

  • No

  • See MLB rule 7.10(d), the play on the runner at 3rd is the next play.


A) one After the ball is put in play, the pitcher steps back off the rubber preparing to throw to first to make the appeal, R2 takes off for third on a steal. Instead of throwing to first, the pitcher throws to third attempting to retire R2, but R2 beats the throw. Can the defense now properly appeal at first base?

B) two

C) none

Answer

A) one

see MLB rule 7.12, while R2 is clearly out, the appeal is on a runner that is following R3 and the third out in not the result of a force-play, R2 was not forced to run to third.

Two outs, runners on second and third. Batter triples, apparently scoring both R3 and R2. The defense appeals that R2 missed third, and you agree, calling him out. How many runs do you allow?


A) strike one After the ball is put in play, the pitcher steps back off the rubber preparing to throw to first to make the appeal, R2 takes off for third on a steal. Instead of throwing to first, the pitcher throws to third attempting to retire R2, but R2 beats the throw. Can the defense now properly appeal at first base?

B) ball one

C) no pitch since the batter was not in the box

Answer

B) ball one

See MLB rule 6.02(b) penalty, but remember the strike zone up and down, the batter just took your strike zone away. If the ball is over the plate, and it was within a reasonable strike zone, call it a strike on your judgment.

With a count of 0-2, the batter steps out of the batter’s box while the pitcher is in his windup. The pitcher delivers the pitch anyway, the pitch does not enter the strike zone. What is your call?


Time is automatically called when the batter steps out of the batter s box true or false
“Time” is automatically called when the batter steps out of the batter’s box?True or False

  • Answer

  • False, see MLB rule 6.02(b)


Nobody on base and the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box. You order the pitcher to “Pitch the Ball”. The pitcher bounces one up to the catcher. You call it a strike anyway. Are you correct?

  • Answer

  • Yes, see MLB rule 6.02(c)


The batter is legally in the box with one foot completely in the box and the other foot on the line of the box? True or False

  • Answer

  • True, see MLB rule 6.03 approved ruling


A) The BR is out and on the catch and R3 is out on the appeal

B) The BR is out on the catch and R3 is called “safe” on the appeal and the run counts

C) The BR is out on the catch, the ball is called dead and R3 is sent back to 3rd base

Answer

B) The BR is out on the catch and R3 is called “safe” on the appeal and the run counts

See MLB rule 2.0 Catch

Tagging up on a deep fly ball to right-field, R3 takes off for home when the center-fielder (F8) touches the ball. The ball, however, jumps out of the F8’s glove and is caught by the right-fielder (F9). When the ball is actually caught, R3 is already 1/3 of the way home and scores easily. The defense formally appeals to you that R3 left too soon. What is your call?


No outs bases loaded batter takes strike 3 and the catcher drops the ball is the batter out
No outs, bases loaded, batter takes strike 3 and the catcher drops the ball. Is the batter out?

  • Answer

  • Yes, see MLB rule 6.05(c) Apply this rule all USSSA player pitch games

  • Note: In T-ball and Coach Pitch, the batter is always out, there is never a dropped 3rd strike rule.


A) No pitch drops the ball. Is the batter out?

B) Strike 3, the batter is out

C) Ball 4, the batter is awarded 1st base

Answer

C) Ball 4, the batter is awarded 1st base

See MLB rule 2.0 Ball and 6.08(a)

Full count and no outs. A pitched ball bounces and passes through the strike zone, the batter takes the pitch. What is the call?


One out, full count on the batter, runners at 1 drops the ball. Is the batter out?st and 2nd. Pitched ball bounces across the plate, the batter swings and misses. As R2, R1 and BR are running, catcher throws the ball over the first baseman into right field. F9 throws the ball to 2nd base attempting to get the BR who goes into the base standing up while R2 crosses the plate and R1 is standing on 3rd. Do you let the play stand?

  • Answer

  • No, R2 scores, R2 stays at 3rd, but the BR is out on strike 3 because first base was occupied on the pitch. The ball is not dead.

  • See MLB rule 6.05(c)


ad