Minimum Penalties for DUI Convictions in Georgia
This presentation is the property of its rightful owner.
Sponsored Links
1 / 1

Minimum Penalties for DUI Convictions in Georgia PowerPoint PPT Presentation


  • 18 Views
  • Uploaded on
  • Presentation posted in: General

Find out what can happen if you are convicted of a DUI in the state of Georgia and how it can affect your future.

Download Presentation

Minimum Penalties for DUI Convictions in Georgia

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript


Minimum penalties for dui convictions in georgia

Minimum Penalties for DUI Convictions in Georgia

1 1st st DUI

DUI

2 2nd

nd DUI

DUI

3 3rd

rd DUI

DUI

4 4th th DUI

DUI

Mandatory 10 days of

Jail Time [May be

probated to 72 hours]

Mandatory 120 days of

Jail Time [May be

probated to 15 days]

Mandatory 24 hours of

Jail Time

$5,000 Fine

40 Hours of Community

Service

30 Days of Community

Service

240 Hours of

Community Service

Classified as a Felony*

$300-$1,000 Fine

$600 - $1,000 Fine

$1,000-$5,000 Fine

1-5 Years in State Prison

Mandatory Attendance

of DUI School

17 Weeks of Alcohol

Treatment Courses

17 Weeks of Alcohol

Treatment Courses

12 Months of Probation

12 Months of Probation

12+ Months of Probation

3 Year License

Suspension [1 year

before eligible for

hardship license]

5 Year License

Suspension [2 years

before eligible for

hardship license]

12 Month Drivers

License Suspension

Confiscation of all

vehicle tags

Confiscation of all

vehicle tags

When Should I Hire a Lawyer?

You should hire a lawyer prior to Arraignment (your first court date). This way, your attorney can appear

and plead on your behalf, without your presence being required. The attorney can also file Pre-Trial

Motions to get access to all evidence against you, and get any illegal evidence thrown out. This will

help your lawyer see what kind of case you have

Interlock Ignition Device

for 6 months after

license is reinstated

Interlock Ignition Device

for 6 months after

license is reinstated

Photo published in

county newspaper

where you reside

Photo published in

county newspaper

where you reside

*Most DUIs are misdemeanors. However, if you kill or seriously injury someone, or have four offenses

within 10 years, it will be considered a felony and go on your Criminal record

Long-Term Consequences of A DUI Conviction

ü  Higher Insurance rates

ü  Ineligible to hold certain pilot or

commercial truck licenses

ü  More Difficult to Rent a Car

ü  Restrictions on traveling to other

countries

ü  Less mercy if you’re ever arrested

again.

If arrested for a DUI, be sure to retain a lawyer prior to your first court date. This ensures you

don’t have to attend court, as your attorney can appear and plead on your behalf.

LAW OFFICES OF

✪absolutely-not-guilty.com

✪(404) 250-1113

THOMAS, WEBB, AND WILLIS


  • Login