Welcome! - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

Welcome l.jpg
Download
1 / 10

  • 231 Views
  • Updated On :
  • Presentation posted in: Sports / Games

Welcome!. Welcome – Dr. Silverberg Associate Head & Director of UG Programs Advising – Dr. Tran Director of UG Advising and Curricula Labs – Mr. Terry Gilbert Director of ME Undergraduate Labs Other UG Information – Mrs. Tran

I am the owner, or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the owner, of the copyrighted work described.

Download Presentation

Welcome!

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation

Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author.While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Presentation Transcript


Welcome l.jpg

Welcome!

  • Welcome – Dr. Silverberg

    Associate Head & Director of UG Programs

  • Advising – Dr. Tran

    Director of UG Advising and Curricula

  • Labs – Mr. Terry Gilbert

    Director of ME Undergraduate Labs

  • Other UG Information

    – Mrs. Tran

    Director of Scheduling and Outreach


Departmental structure l.jpg

Departmental structure

  • The Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering administers two separately accredited degree programs:

    • Aerospace Engineering

      • BS, BSE-DE, ABM, MS, MS-DE, PhD

    • Mechanical Engineering

      • BS, BSE-DE, ABM, MS, MS-DE, PhD

  • A single department head and administrative structure directs the educational, research and outreach missions of these two closely related disciplines


Ewin pritchard advanced energy plug in hybrid school bus l.jpg

(3-2-08)

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering are on the Rise… from US News and World Report

  • At the heart of many cutting edge technologies

  • The most popular UG engineering degree

  • 3rd most popular GR engineering degree

  • Over 16 thousand UG degrees awarded in 2008

  • Critical to the 3 sectors critical to America’s future:

  • energy, security & defense, and healthcare

  • 4 main disciplines: thermodynamics & fluids, solid

  • mechanics, dynamics & controls, manufacturing

  • Producing among the most stable careers

  • in the nation

Ewin Pritchard

Advanced energy plug-in hybrid school bus


Slide4 l.jpg

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering are on the Rise…

MAE is the largest department in EngineeringMAE is the 2nd largest at NC State, making up 1/20th of the UG enrollment (The largest is business management) About 1400 undergraduate students:About 300 graduate students40 tenure-track faculty 7 lecturers, 1 teaching assistant professor, 18 staff


Engineering building eb iii l.jpg

Engineering Building (EB) III

248,000 square feet

103M$ for building

and infrastructure

80 laboratories

Occupancy in July of 2010


Get involved l.jpg

Get involved!

Professional Societies: ASME, AIAA, ASHRAE

Honor Societies: PTS (ME), SGT (AE)

Club activities: ARC, WMS

Undergraduate Research


Mae student organizations l.jpg

MAE Student Organizations

  • Aerial Robotics

  • Pres. Tim Joseytjjosey@ncsu.edu

  • VP J. B. Scoggins jbscoggi@ncsu.edu

  • Advisor: Chuck Hall chall@skyraider.mae.ncsu.edu

  • AIAA

  • Pres. Isaac Owolabiioowolab@ncsu.edu

  • VP Kevin Kennedy kmkenne3@ncsu.edu

  • Advisor: Ashok Gopalarathnam agopalar@ncsu.edu

  • ASHRAE

  • Pres. Christopher Dulincrdulin@ncsu.edu

  • VP Emily Rader errader@ncsu.edu

  • Advisor :Steve Terry sdterry@ncsu.edu

  • ASME

  • Pres. Scott Barnes sdbarne2@ncsu.edu

  • VP Aaron Hover amhover@ncsu.edu

  • Advisor Jeff Eischen eischen@ncsu.edu


Mae student organizations cont l.jpg

MAE Student Organizations (cont.)

  • Pi Tau Sigma

  • Pres. Myles Bohonmdbohon@ncsu.edu

  • VP Christian Daily cmdaily@ncsu.edu

  • Advisor: Greg Buckner greg_buckner@ncsu.edu

  • Wolfpack Motorsports

  • Pres. Seth Chavka sdchavka@ncsu.edu

  • VP Jonathan Parker jdparke3@ncsu.edu

  • Advisor: Eric Klang klang@ncsu.edu

  • Sigma Gamma Tau

  • Pres. Brett Pearce mbpearce@ncsu.edu

  • VP Lindsey Benner lrbenner@ncsu.edu

  • Advisor Kara Peters kjpeters@ncsu.edu

  • Weel/EcoCar

  • Pres. Adam Zipperer arzipper@gmail.com

  • VP

  • Advisor Terry Gilbert terry_gilbert@ncsu.edu


University wide and departmental honors programs l.jpg

University-Wide and DepartmentalHonors Programs

AE and ME Requirements

1. The student must complete a total of 9 hours of honors classes.

2. At least 3 of the hours are an Undergraduate Thesis (MAE 496).

3. The other six hours are selected from any of the following:

Additional thesis hours (MAE 586) , a graduate class in MAE, an undergraduate class

in MAE taken at an honors level.

Honors contract guidelines and forms are found at the MAE website.

To qualify for admission, the student must have an overall 3.50 grade point average or better at the time of admission and complete a plan of work.

Participation in the honors program can be a very

positive experience and is highly encouraged.


Duke energy undergraduate energy related research grants l.jpg

Duke Energy Undergraduate Energy-Related Research Grants

Supports 8 MAE students for conducting UG research in the broad area of energy under the supervision of a faculty mentor

Each award consists of a $2000 stipend

The awards are advertised in September.


  • Login